Steemit Open Mic Week 43 "My Friends In Syria" (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago

This song is about our friends in Syria, whose lives have changed so much. 7 & 1/2 years ago, they lived just like you and I here in the West. In Peace. Attending school. Going to movies. Chasing girls.

All of that changed terribly for them, as you may very well know, and our friends found themselves having worries that were nothing close to normal! In addition to that they had new, cumbersome responsibilities that took them away from pursuing their dreams, and living in peace and safety.

Lyrics:

My friend, I know you're just trying to get your PHD. And my friend, he smiles no matter where the bombs are falling. My friend, well he's had to help a lot of his family. My friend, he's put his whole life on hold for 7 years now.

Are these thoughts you have? Do you wonder if maybe your best friend is gonna die? These are thoughts he has. Where will be safe to take my brother when those mortar shells fly?

Death is becoming normal life, Lynds, he said. And we don't even know if we're gonna be able to deal if it ends. And everyone is so suspicious, there's so many different groups that are fighting and the fighting never ends. And disharmony has become a way of life, getting water, no electricity… we don't mind, we're used to it now.

And he smiles and he says: Can't believe trees still grow, can't believe flowers still grow, can't believe everything grows! My apartment is gone, but the grass is still growing in the cracks of the yard.

Music & Lyrics by @LyndsayBowes
Lead Guitar: Brendan Bowes ( @hendrix22 )

Big thanks to @luzcypher & @pfunk for hosting and sponsoring the weekly Open Mic, which is just a massive success. It's helped us so much getting back into the musical groove with each other!

If you would like to get your music and your messages out there as well, join this week: Steemit Open Mic 43 - Record Your Performance On Your Phone, Enter And Win Steem - Sponsored By @pfunk And @luzcypher

Sort:  

Heartfelt lyrics. It's a rarity to have that kind of compassion and empathy unfortunately in the world at least today but is good to see you two do.

Thank you for your big heart! XOxoXO

Thanks my man. Really appreciate you always taking a listen to our stuff.

You're welcomed, I really appreciate the y'alls talent and message

Thanks again for sharing with us.

Glad to be a part of it.

:) Yes, what Brendan said!! So happy to do this each week, so life-giving!!

@lyndsaybowes thank you for sharing. Your friend's change of perspective about grass still growing was so profound... Praying.

Thank you Karen, honestly, Wa'el, the one who told me about his apartment being destroyed, he is the most positive person I've ever met in my life. Always a smile to give, never does he let any of these circumstances get to him (for long), or change his smile. He's always seeing what he can do to brighten another's day. Thank you for your prayers, I will tell him that you were touched by his perspective!

Yes please do tell him. I'm so impressed with his attitude and his willingness to serve when things are so difficult. Someday you'll have to share how you can stay in communication with Wa'el.

We met on facebook, that's where I have met everyone I am friends with in Syria, and many other places. Because of my activism I am lucky enough to make friends with a lot of fine folks in war torn countries, I am always digging for the truth of why their country is being attacked by Western countries.

I interviewed 5 of my friends in Syria in this article, if you would like to learn more about their experiences in the last 7 years. https://steemit.com/syria/@lyndsaybowes/the-truth-about-syria-from-my-friends-who-live-there-5-interviews

You're both amazing human beings and I love YOU for it!!! MWAH!!!

Thank you very much for the support! xoxo

Thank you very much

Love the harmonics at the beginning. Nice singing and all around playin'!

Thanks for listening my friend

I really appreciate that you gave it a listen, thank you @tfeldman :) xo

This week's openmic will be totally emotional as it seems! Great job! Upvoted :)

Yes! Sooo true, I've heard a couple so far that really pulled on the heartstrings!!!!

Very touching the lyrics and song.
Peace and love !!!

Peace and Love to you angel, I will be checking out your new song today! xo

Thanks! Peace and Love my friend

Very powerful lyrics. Really puts into perspective how easy most of us have it and makes you second guess the urge to complain about the small grievances we manage to find within life. While I am stressed about work, someone else is now homeless after a surprise bombing. It's very easy to forget that the rest of the world doesn't exist in the same safety net that we do. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much for your heartfelt comment Chris, you truly "get it" <3

Upvoted!
This is your song. Well done!

Thank you VERY much @Donatello :) Very kind of you!

You are very welcome and I follow you now.
I have also posted an original tune for this open mic week.

I look forward to your songs. Great job!

That's kind of you Michael, thank you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55