You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 81 - Stop 'n' Think (Original) - Nathan Kaye

in #openmic6 years ago

Love the lyrics man Great performance.

Thankfully I stopped watching TV years ago and have never looked back. Television is the drug of the nation, breeding violence, and beaming radiation. It's chewing gum for the mind and offers no nutritional value at all.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Sort:  

Thanks so much bruthamanb @luzcypher!

I used to do a cover with my old band of Television, the Drug of the Nation by Disposable Heroes of Hiphopracy (I think I might have an audio recording of that n an old minidisc somewhere..)!
A profound song (& album) with such an astute lyric!
I saw them play live in a small club in Sydney 1992. Still one of the best gigs I've ever witnessed.

Anyway, my mum called the TV a brainwashing machine when I was a young kid. She was ahead of her time.

Michael Franti is a good friend of mine actually. I loved DHOH but didn't get to know him until later when he started Spearhead. That was after he tried weed and it totally mellowed him out.

Last time I saw him was at a private party we played and he was doing great. Good times and good memories.

No shit!! that's an epic story! Great to see the change in people through the years, like that, hey?
DHOH really impacted my sense of mission with my artistic career when I was 17 years old...

I've only met Michael Franti a few times. My eldest daughter went to school with his son in Bali when we were living there. They often played together.

We'll have to get a big Steemian concert/festival together and get Michael to headline!!

TV free as I can be for almost two decades - we have that in common, luz ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52