Steemit Open Mic Week 86 - I'm Like a Bird

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey guys,

I hope you are all having a wonderful evening (if you're in the same time zone!).

Tonight I decided to strip back to the basics and do what I used to do, play guitar and sing normally :) I had a couple of comments from people missing my old stuff and it really warmed me to be honest.

I started to record my songs properly as some weren't so thrilled about my amateur guitar playing or how unexpressive I naturally am. I then started to try and record my music in a way that would hopefully be more appealing. Unfortunately to those who have an issue with my face however, that is just the way I am. I don't perform live and this is one of the reasons I don't. I have never had the confidence to, simply because of the way I look.

When people comment on the looks, they are absolutely taking away from the talent behind. My voice is where the years of training lies, it's not as if I am training to be a model where that focuses on the art of beauty in people. My friend once commented on a singer who was a little larger than other 'pop stars' that you may see on the TV. I took real offence and let her know that this is the reason why I don't push myself out there more. She took it back once she realised.

It really touched me when I received a couple of comments saying that they would like me to go back to a bit of my old stuff. They took a real appreciation to how raw my performance was. I just sit in front of my computer, with my guitar, and use the photobooth app to record. It's as simple as that. I put my heart and soul into my voice, and that is all that matters.

I hope this cover will reveal what I'm truly like, plain and simple.
A beautiful song by a beautiful artist - Nelly Furtado.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

What a beautiful version of this song. I saw NF supporting U2 a long time ago (showing my age here) and she was great.

Love this version, keep up the great work

Lucy lucy lucy... I love your voice, your the best, i am your big fans, wow.. :)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

You have a beautiful face and "live" persona, Lucy! Your passion is expressed exactly the way it ought to be - naturally... and it's rather becoming... Loved you getting back to some live performances... I really enjoyed everything about your performance here - everything!

You have a beautiful face and "live" persona, Lucy! Your passion is expressed exactly the way it ought to be - naturally... and it's rather becoming... Loved you getting back to some live performances... I really enjoyed everything about your performance here - everything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53