Open Mic Week 35: I don't want to set the world on fire (Benjamin/Durham/Marcus/Seiler), 1941

in #openmic7 years ago

Here's this weeks melody. It became a very popular part of my busking set when the game Fallout 3 came out. The first I heard of it was when spotty youths walked past wide-eyed in wonder that such an old dude could know a song from a game that they've only just got their greasy paws on.

So here it is for your delectation and delight.

This post is part of the ever bigger and lovelier open mic weekly contest and you can see links to all the other entries as they roll in, in the comments on @luzcypher's page here

Sort:  

I just enjoy your covers. They are great

Thanks for playing us another one.

Always love the old tunes man. I also heard more tunes like this in Brazil. At some Pizza joints they played this type of music for some reason. Keep rocking man!

wow! I could be big in Brazil! :D Thanks for the love and encouragement

You did a great job! I like hearing music from past genres. More please! :)

I'm glad you like it. I'll be keeping on keeping on! :)

Nice. You don't really hear this singing style much anymore , and you do it quite well. The first thing that popped in my head was ... Gene Kelly or Fred Astaire(even though i guess they were known for their dancing anyway) ... is that even the right era? ...
Anyways , i just wanted to leave a comment to say it's nice to still hear this singing style ... and honestly , I must say , every time you do that trumpet thing in the middle of your song ... it seems to put a smile on my face :) ....

heh! yeah you don't want to see my dancing :) - they both sang but were better known for their moves.

It's the music I grew up with in the house, this is what my Dad's record collection was like and he's a musician too so I would go to gigs and listen lots. And then Sunday afternoon movies on the TV cemented it. Glad to know it makes you smile.

I've never played fallout 3 or any of its predecessors but this is a lovely song to listen to. Thanks for another classic entry, wonderful performance as always

very welcome, my friend.

Very cool.
I love the old songs.
You do them justice.
Good performance.
:)

Thanks Tom, your love shows in your own work. Thanks for the support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56847.11
ETH 2970.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29