Steemit Open Mic Week 64 - Original song "Middle Aged Orphan"

in #openmic7 years ago

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Greetings again Steemians!

This week I figured I'd get away from covers and do an old originals written back in 2015. "Middle Aged Orphan". I wrote this song about how it feels to not have anyone like a grandparent or parent alive to turn to in your family. 


lyrics

Loneliness

When all of your elders have gone

You're too old to go to the orphanage

Baby that's just what you are

Loneliness 

When all of your heroes are dead

You are the hero instead

No one for you to call on


You gotta man up 

To be a middle aged orphan

Top dog of the whole family tree

You gotta be strong

To be a middle aged orphan

Caretaker of the whole family


Be sure to check out and download the newest music compilation from @soundlegion

https://steemit.com/music/@soundlegion/sound-legion-is-so-happy-to-officially-present-the-steemit-artist-music-compilation-volume-3

Also like to thank @luzcypher @pfunk @soundlegion @krystle @verbal-d @passion-ground for their work on the Open Mic, and @meno for his on the songwriter challenge. 

PEACE, LOVE, AND HORNS UP!

Sort:  

Nice one, man... Really enjoyed this!

Thank you

Great song. I think you deal with good subject matter that most folks do not have the manhood to deal with. Like it my friend can relate to what you sing about.

Thanks my friend, losing my father, mother, and wife in 6 years really makes me think probably way too much about life and death's place in it.

Nice song man!

Thank you very much :)

Beautifully written and played. I have a huge family and I am so incredibly grateful for each one of them, but this really puts things in perspective. Also, I really dig that solo! ;)

Thank you!
I still wish I could call my dad and ask for advice or my mom to talk politics or history :(

I still have my mom, thank goodness. But I lost my dad right before his 50th birthday. What I wouldn’t give to sit down and talk to him just one more time! Hopefully you have good memories of your parents. I can only hope that my kids will remember me. Dammit, now I’m getting emotional. Gonna watch your video again ;)

A beautiful song. The sound of your guitar is good.

Thank you:)

the lyrics of your songs are sensational

Thank you :)

Cool song.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you Luzy!

this was a different song I experienced here, meaningful song and sad, great job brother!!
also the solo was great!!
\m/ rock on!

Thank you my brother

Nice lyrics and music, brother. Thank you for sharing this, a very touching song.

Thank you very much :)

Truly beautiful brother- I felt this one deeply. Stay strong

Thank you man!
This is life, a hard fought and short lived blessing.

Youre very welcome. Stay strong

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72