You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 75 - Resonator - RL Burnside's 'Long Haired Doney'

in #openmic6 years ago

Resonator guitars are all of my dreams wrapped in a sound... I mean i could never afford one but loved the sound and dreamed for one forever lol.

I also enjoy the contrasting stick in your hair, lol.

thanks for sharing Mr. Sandersuk

Sort:  

Thanks @limabeing. You know I always thought the same, though I had a single cone reso, I'd always loved the idea of having a tricone, as it has such distinctive characters in both the art-deco design to the tones and gorgeous overtones.

I was talking to a friend about the fact that I'd love one but probably never get one as I couldn't justify the money, given the guitars I already had. Then 2 weeks later I saw an advert for a brand new Tricone by 'Vintage@ usually priced at £600, for just £250 and had already been fitted with upgrade cones. I couldn't understand the price so I rang the guy up, and he'd been given it really cheap by theimporters as it had a rattle they couldn't get rid of. So the guy fitted better cones, still the buzz remained. The buzz in the end was caused by a single loose screw.

At that price I didn't hesitate, I had the money available, I hopped on the next train to the city of York, met the guy at the station, had a very quick play, gave him the money, got a receipt and a couple of hours later I was back home with my tricone.

I was confident with it being made by vintage, they're high quality, even though you have to smooth out the rough edges to taste.

A very fortunate bit of luck. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55