Steemit Open Mic Week 74 - 'The guitar don't lie' by Tony Joe White performed by @laviq

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello,

this is my introductory post to Steemit Open Mic contest and I'm kinda nervous.

Well, I chose on of my favorites and that is Tony Joe White's "The guitar don't lie".

Here are the lyrics:

He sits all alone, playing his guitar
In the back of a small café
No one seems to hear so he closes his eyes
Just lets the music take him away

Singing songs of love, songs of broken hearts
He's worn out his luck and his last pair of jeans
But you keep going on when you're living on dreams
You can feel it inside and the guitar don't lie

There's a lady he knows, who often comes by
She's heavily into the blues
She requests the same song every night
Says it reminds her of someone she knew

A trace of her perfume floats across the room
Once they were close, shared all their dreams
But now all that he feels is a physical thing
They grow slowly apart and the guitar don't lie

Some nights it gets cold, it makes him aware
That time is slipping away
If you look close at his dark curly hair
Under the lights there's traces of grey

But he knows what it's all about, to feel down and out
He's been there before, he's seen it all
And you learn to survive with your back to the wall
It's a crazy old life and the guitar don't lie, oh no

Enjoy.

Click to read more about this week's Steemit Open Mic contest.

Sort:  

Hey man.. Welcome to steemit! don't be nervous :) There a a loooot of musicians on here, so, everyone pretty much understands and is supportive. I wanna thank you for introducing me to this artist--Tony Joe White. And that's def true... well, at least my guitar don't ;) . *Oh I wanted to add: what kind of guitar is that?? is it a gibson or ibanez? i it's very nice..

Thank you for being supportive! In my search for the roots of Dire Straits I came along Tony Joe White's music and he has become one of my favorites. The guitar is an Ibanez AS153-AYS and the only thing I have changed on it is the bridge with a Gotoh one. The guitar has a great neck (as most Ibanez do) and two Super 59 humbuckers with many tonal possibilities thanks to the preinstalled wiring switch.

Very cool.... That's one style guitar I have yet to own--semi-hollow body electric like that... They're so dang expensive!! (Especially when we're talkin Gibbies/ 335s... geesh! I actually just put my Flying V together, and THATS a cool axe, man.. wanna talk about tone... you strike a chord and the entire freakin BODY just goes Bwoooonnnng!! all through it lol. And the neck.. I mean, it's the most accessible one I've even played.. go alllll the way up or down!

Congratulations @laviq! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58615.18
ETH 2559.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52