๐ŸŽถ Open Mic Week 17 ๐ŸŽถ Waltzing Matilda Acapella ๐ŸŽถ Breakdown and Meaning of the Song ๐ŸŽถ

in #openmic โ€ข 8 years ago

Today is Australia Day so I felt inclined to do an Aussie classic called Waltzing Matilda, it is a much loved song here and is recognised as one of Australia's most famous Bush Ballads.

Waltzing Matilda was written by Banjo Paterson in 1895.

I have also included a list of meanings for the words people may not understand and a line by line breakdown of the song, plus a brief explanation as to the overall meaning of the song.

Hey Steemit this is my entry into Open Mic week 17.

Lyrics:

Once a jolly swagman camped by a billabong,
Under the shade of a coolibah tree,
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?

Waltzing Matilda, Waltzing Matilda,
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?

Along came a jumbuck to drink at the billabong,
Up jumped the swagman and grabbed him with glee,
And he sang as he stowed that jumbuck in his tucker bag,
You'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me.

Waltzing Matilda, Waltzing Matilda,
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?

Up rode the squatter, mounted on his thoroughbred,
Down came the troopers, one, two, three,
Whose is that jumbuck you've got in your tucker bag?
You'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me.

Waltzing Matilda, Waltzing Matilda,
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?

Up jumped the swagman, leapt into the billabong,
You'll never catch me alive, said he,
And his ghost may be heard as you pass by the billabong,
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me.

Waltzing Matilda, Waltzing Matilda,
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?


Original Waltzing Matilda manuscript 1895 | ยฉ Christina Macpherson/WikiCommons

Word Meanings:

Swagman = A person (hobo) who carried all of his belongings in his "swag" (pack)
Billabong =a branch of a river forming a backwater or stagnant pool, made by water flowing from the main stream during a flood.
Billy = A billy is a metal tin with a wire handle that was used to boil water.
Jumbuck = Is a sheep.
Tucker Bag = Tucker is slang for food, so tucker bag it's a type of bag you stored your food in.
Squatter = Wealthy landowner / rancher.
Waltzing = Means to travel on foot (waltzing, derived from the German auf der Walz)
Matilda = Something you store your belongings in (swag) usually slung over one's back.


Picture of a Billabong

Breakdown of Waltzing Matilda:

Once a jolly swagman camped by a billabong,
once a happy traveller camped by a pond,
Under the shade of a coolibah tree,
under the shade of a Eucalypt tree,
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
and he sang as he watched and waited til his water boiled (tea or food)
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
Who'll come a traveling on foot with all their belongings on their back with me?

Waltzing Matilda, Waltzing Matilda,
Traveling with your stuff, Traveling with your stuff.
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
Who'll come a traveling on foot with all their belongings on their back with me?
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
and he sang as he watched and waited til his water boiled (tea or food)
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
Who'll come a traveling on foot with all their belongings on their back with me?

Along came a jumbuck to drink at the billabong,
Along came a sheep to drink at that pond
Up jumped the swagman and grabbed him with glee,
Up jumped the traveller and grabbed the sheep happily
And he sang as he stowed that jumbuck in his tucker bag,
And he sang as he put the sheep in his food storage bag
You'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me.
You'll come a traveling on foot with their belongings on their back with me.

Waltzing Matilda, Waltzing Matilda,
Traveling with your stuff, Traveling with your stuff.
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
Who'll come a traveling on foot with all their belongings on their back with me?
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
and he sang as he watched and waited til his water boiled (tea or food)
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
Who'll come a traveling on foot with all their belongings on their back with me?

Up rode the squatter, mounted on his thoroughbred,
Up rode a wealthy landowner (the dude who owned the sheep), mounted on his expensive horse
Down came the troopers, one, two, three,
Down came the three mounted cops
Whose is that jumbuck you've got in your tucker bag?
Who owns that sheep you have in you food bag?
You'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me.
You'll come a traveling on foot with their belongings on their back with me.

Waltzing Matilda, Waltzing Matilda,
Traveling with your stuff, Traveling with your stuff.
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
Who'll come a traveling on foot with all their belongings on their back with me?
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
and he sang as he watched and waited til his water boiled (tea or food)
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
Who'll come a traveling on foot with all their belongings on their back with me?

Up jumped the swagman, leapt into the billabong,
Up jumped the traveller and leapt into the pond
You'll never catch me alive, said he,
I'd rather die than be arrested (he'd be killed if he was arrested any way) he said
And his ghost may be heard as you pass by the billabong,
He drowned and his ghost haunts the pond and if you pass the pond you may hear him sing
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me.
Who'll come a traveling on foot with all their belongings on their back with me?

Waltzing Matilda, Waltzing Matilda,
Traveling with your stuff, Traveling with your stuff.
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
Who'll come a traveling on foot with all their belongings on their back with me?
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
and he sang as he watched and waited til his water boiled (tea or food)
Who'll come a-waltzing, Matilda, with me?
Who'll come a traveling on foot with all their belongings on their back with me?

Overall Meaning:

Basically the song is about a poor traveller who has made camp for the night by the bank of a water hole, he is joyful and singing in spite of his lack of food and wealth.

He is making his supper when a sheep comes to the watering hole to drink, he is poor so probably doesn't have much in the way of rations (food) so he kills the sheep eats it and stores the left overs in his tuckerbag.

Next thing a wealthy man and three cops show up and question him about where he got the sheep and who owned it? They know he stole it from the wealthy man and threaten to arrest him.

The swagman knows that an arrest would likely result in his death anyway, so he decides to commit suicide by jumping into the water hole.

So in the end he dies by his own choosing rather than at the hands of the cops and now his spirit can be heard singing at the watering hole.


Here are another couple of renditions of Waltzing Matilda:

Tommy Emmanuel:

Slim Dusty:

Like what you've read so far?

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort: ย 

, really amazing your voices, you do not need a musical instrument to sound perfect, hopefully you'll come back soon

Oh thanks for that, I am always here lol - just as a judge rather than a performer, but I do hope to return to singing again when my voice returns properly. Cheers :D

so be it, the cold is an enemy in this case, you must be careful

Thanks so much, I am always nervous putting these out there so I really appreciate it :D

Brilliant. I don't think there is a more Australian song than Waltzing Matilda. :)

I had a few I was thinking of doing like I still call Australia home and I am Australian, but settled on this as it works better acapella.

I love songs that tell a story too so double bonus :)

I agree. Songs are definitely better when they tell a story. :)

lovely voice! love the song and the post very detailed with history. Taken very much by the vocal, just gorgeous

Wow thank you so very much, coming from you I really take that as a compliment with some backing.

Just trying to get some confidence back with my singing, so I really appreciate it :D

Great song and a brilliant performance by @krystle. Good luck in the contest!

Thank you so much :D

Thanks :)

Verry good! Compliments! (;

Thanks so much :)

Lovely vibrato, thanks for joining in - good luck to you!

Thanks I appreciate it :)

Very nice ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ. I play a few Irish songs in March. (I have no idea why. ๐Ÿค”) I think I could sneak this one in without too much of a fight. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you.

No worries, glad you enjoyed it :)

Aww shucks <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57