You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 79 - ORIGINAL SONG - Back Down

in #openmic6 years ago

I looked you up on YouTube to listen a while back, and saw that you toured with Sara Bareilles. Pretty cool - and I imagine it takes a lot of humility to keep going after being so on the brink! Anyway, famous or not, I do enjoy your work. One thing I've been encouraged by is when people say that the people who are meant to hear what I have will hear it. There are smaller bands that I know haven't done super well commercially (and likely can't even pay their bills--tragedy!), but who have meant the world to me. There's a great hope that I've been able to be that for someone.

Keep singing, brother.

Sort:  

well this meant the world to me ;) thanks kay! yes - humility has been crucial. but also a realization that there is no pre-defined path or story that i'm missing out on. it's all happening here right now in this moment. and right now i feel lucky. so thank you. for listening, and writing, and creating... thank you.

That's a lot of wisdom there, friend.

I didn't make it as far as you, but was working with some high-level industry people for a while and certainly felt a bit on the "brink" as well, sort of "hovering" close to success in some ways, and it's been hard to go back to square one, especially after feeling like I missed out on years of building! But Steemit has been great, as well as learning bits and pieces about online business, so I'm still hopeful. But the right focus is just to stay plugged in to what is now.

Have a good day!

Very true. Staying plugged into the now and reconnecting to the heart of the artist inside.
Asking ourselves better questions is paramount.
How can what we share (& how we share it) better affect our communities And our world?
The path of the artist is one of regular recalibrations of focus, direction and psychological/emotional healing.

Very well-expressed, Nathan! It's really cool to have other artists to connect to in these deeper things about our work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66