Steemit Open Mic Week 42: Ain't It Fun - Paramore (cover by Kay Clarity)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Because I'm not exclusively serious, believe it or not.

And because there is something to the genius of what I call "proportion"--when lyrics suit the music and suit what is trying to be expressed, over a broad spectrum of artistic goal and intent. This takes an artistic intuition that is hard to teach.

This song is cool because it's ultimately a sober but fun invitation into living fully in spite of the challenges and objective pain of being alone, but without being trite about a common experience. It juxtaposes the vitality of risk and a clean slate with the core agony of making your own way and all of the loneliness and accompanying self-doubt that is inevitable in that process. All the while screaming DEAR HEAVENS DON'T BE SO SERIOUS EVEN THOUGH IT HURTS LIKE WORDS CAN'T EXPRESS.

But here's the thing: with something like this (and with a lot of forms of expression), explaining it ruins it.

And so I finish.

Xx, Kay

Sort:  

This was cool. I have never heard this song before and therefore your description helped provide context. Great as always!

Ah, you're the best. Like I said to your other comment--I so appreciate you showing up here regularly :) xx

And again, you're quite welcome. Keep up the great work!!!

Yup, ain't the real world fun. Good one. Thanks for sharing

lol. Emphatic YES and emphatic NO. You're welcome! xx

Love hearing you sing. Thanks again for your continued support.

Thank you! And so sorry for missing a big THANK YOU for your original song bonus that you sent! I was so grateful, but travelling and unable to respond to comments, etc., just then!

Great cover Kay, I love Paramore, especially their older stuff!

Thanks, friend! Yeah, great song--I actually don't know as much of their older stuff, but think I'll be checking it out soon. xx

Nice voice! Take a look at our music, I would be very happy to make a conection with you. @uriell @trilumia :)

Bravo!!!! Listening as I type haha :)

This is wicked awesome, and it's nice to find a fellow musician on here! Your timing is great, and I love your voice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46