OPEN MIC WEEK 39 - Kay Clarity (Cover: Everything Has Changed by William Fitzsimmons)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey there Steem!

Here is my contribution for this week's Open Mic.

This song is incredible, and so is this guy, William Fitzsimmons. It's about the pain of his parents' divorce when he was a kid.

Hope you enjoy. Lyrics are below the video.

As always, I need and so appreciate all the love & support you've got to give!

"Everything Has Changed"

Today I saw my father standing in the graveyard
Looking very somber looking for his mom
When he finally found her he said that it was different
Everything is different nothing's really changed

My brother would remember sitting in the hallway
Waiting for my father both of us were scared
When the doorknob turned we took off for the stairway
Looking for some cover trying to get away

A guide dog had to serve the role that you would not let
The mother of your children every really play
The office was a dungeon where you hid your fears of
What would really happen if no one ever came

I wonder if you blamed yourself for when she left you
By closing up the garage door and turning on the car
Your father must have lost it your sister couldn't help you
But dad if you were lonely you had no where to turn

Oh, father can't you see the pieces that have fallen on the ground
When you and mom decided nothing could be saved inside this house

Everything has changed
Everything has changed

Last night I had a dream that I was in the graveyard
Looking at my father buried in the ground
I'd swear that I could hear him tell me he was sorry
He told me he was sorry and everything has changed


Xx, Kay

Sort:  

Wery nice

Nice cover, keep up the great work

Nice song choice. An interesting message about how divorce impacts the innocents (children). I love how music has a way of communicating complex subjects. Somehow it's easier to digest when things are said in this way because you feel the emotions immediately. In one step, you're in someone else's shoes.

Thanks for sharing.

Exactly! So well said. That's definitely the beauty of poetry--and then music adds an extra layer to that as well.

Waiting to see you in The Voice :D

lol! :). I did enter a competition here in Canada! We'll see :)

Thank you, sir! :)

Great song Kayclarity , great lyrics and perfect performance , wish you luck . followed and upvoted. thanks for visiting my blog.

Thank you so much! Taking a look right now :)

You sound so good. Love your voice and playing. Please remember to say Open Mic Week (whatever week number it is) to qualify for rewards as stated in the rules.

Thank you!

Okay. Of course I understand. Didn't have it in me to do another of the same song, but did an a cappella and will post that one. You said multiple entries are fine?

Hi clarity you clearly have a beautiful voice ! :D

:). Thank you so much. I appreciate your comment! Xx, Kay

you're welcome

wow... just this what I know text ... wow.

The lyrics are so good. William Fitzsimmons is also amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58720.84
ETH 3088.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41