Open Mic Week 103: "Unsexy" by Alanis Morissette (cover by @kayclarity)

in #openmic6 years ago

A great song by the one and only Alanis. Hope you enjoy--the song should resonate for lots of us, I think. Lyrics below.

"Unsexy" by Alanis Morissette

Oh these little rejections how they add up quickly
One small sideways look and I feel so ungood
Somewhere along the way I think I gave you the power to make
Me feel the way I thought only my father could

Oh these little rejections how they seem so real to me
One forgotten birthday I'm all but cooked
How these little abandonments seem to sting so easily
I'm 13 again am I 13 for good?

I can feel so unsexy for someone so beautiful
So unloved for someone so fine
I can feel so boring for someone so interesting
So ignorant for someone of sound mind

Oh these little protections how they fail to serve me
One forgotten phone call and I'm deflated
Oh these little defenses how they fail to comfort me
Your hand pulling away and I'm devastated

When will you stop leaving baby?
When will I stop deserting baby?
When will I start staying with myself?

Oh these little projections how they keep springing from me
I jump my ship as I take it personally
Oh these little rejections how they disappear quickly
The moment I decide not to abandon me

xx,
Kay

Follow me, k? @kayclarity

You can also listen to my original work here: www.kayclarity.bandcamp.com and find me on IG and FB--same handle.

Sort:  

Sounds great!

Beautiful and talented as always!! ♥️

Such a great cover of this song!

Nothing at all "unsexy" about your performance, girlfriend...
Nice!

Love this, you are a great singer! I sent you a free pack of Steem Monster booster cards! You can view them HERE
Enchantress of the Night (879px, 15fps).gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99