Steemit Open Mic Week 90 — Original: Nobody Here But Me (and the cat, and the mouse…)

in #openmic6 years ago

I got upstaged by a mouse in my video this week. Cheeky bugger photo-bombed my performance of this bittersweet, heartfelt song, making the whole thing into a tragic comedy. I hope you get a laugh from it.

Here’s the take with the sneaky mouse, in which I give a solid performance until the very end of the song when I see the mouse and crack up laughing.


Nobody Here But Me – Original Music by Katrina Ariel


I can’t tell you
All these things in my head,
I can’t touch you
So they’re better unsaid.

I’m transparent.
I’m sure you can see through me,
As I try my best but fail
To leave you be.

Oh, shhhhhh
Ain’t nobody here but me,
And you don’t need to know
So I’ll just sing.

I’ve got no right
To miss you like this
But I can’t quite forget you
I confess.

So I stay busy
Day by day, do my thing.
You’re still with me
Making me sing.

Oh, shhhhhh
Ain’t nobody here but me,
And you don’t need to know
So I’ll just sing.

I’m not sure if it’s better
To deny myself,
To lie to myself,
Or hide from myself.

Maybe I should try
Not to let my heart fly,
The fall still comes
Every time we say goodbye.

Oh, shhhhhh
Ain’t nobody here but me,
And you don’t need to know
So I’ll just sing.


Here's a more serious take of the song, though I think I sound better when I’m standing up. I do at least finish the song in this one. ;)


The demise of my Tanglewood guitar.


The cat and mouse thing ended up being an epic tragic comedy, which resulted in the mouse getting named, and the cat knocking over my guitar stand and breaking my 6-string.

Yes, the cat killed the instrument, and eventually the mouse met his end (I finally captured him and let him outside, but he’d had a hard go, and didn’t make it.) If you want the whole cat/mouse story, check out my first ulog.

broken-guitar.jpg

So yes, I’m down a guitar, but it’s Solstice today. I guess the cycle of death and rebirth one of the themes. Gotta respect that. Better to laugh than cry. Now I need to find another 6-string…

I played this week’s song on my 12-string, which is safely inside its case now. I’m glad the cat and mouse shenanigans didn’t break that guitar.


Support Steemit Musicians


This post is my entry for Steemit Open Mic Week 89, which is sponsored by @pfunk, @luzcypher, and some other excellent witnesses sweetening the prize pool. Find posts on the #openmic hashtag.

There’s also a NEW Art of Music Contest, with a different musical genre for each round. Head over to @killerwhale’s account to look for the post. Not a lot of competition… yet. I’d love to see more participation in this fun contest!

I hope you got a laugh from the cheeky mouse, and that you enjoyed the song.

Thanks for listening!

Whatever you do, keep singing your song.

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

alliance banner

Sort:  

LOL! I love how you suddenly burst out in a laugh ;') This was a gorgeous song but in the end I just LOL'ed with you :D

That is the true sign of an accomplished musician and singer when it's so good the house mouse has to come out and listen :)

How funny and so timely how it would happen like that lol

But seriously great song and performance Princess :)

P.S. heck, that's a viral video if I ever saw one ;)

Aw, thank you! I hope the mouse enjoyed the song, but I think he was really just trying to use it as a distraction to get away from the cat. ;) Really makes me happy that you enjoy my music, thanks so much!! 💖

Sorry about your guitar.

Thanks. Glad I wasn't emotionally attached to that one. ;)

Funny, the name of the song is nobody here but me, but then there is that little mouse making an appearance - Irony?

Right? Life is full of irony.

Nice! You took that in stride... your guitar - not so much. :-)

lol! Not so much. ;)

Ha-ha... "a hard go" ... I can just imagine... I suspect the cheeky little critter succumbed to the forces of the universe in ways that we ought not to imagine... Poor lil' thing... We're all getting there day-by-day... It's all simply a matter of time... ;-)

Truth. Gotta enjoy the moments as they come. One-Eyed Willie got a good burial. Not sure what to do with the dead guitar. lol! ;-)

I love when you sing your original songs 💚 and your hair looks really cute with that feather honey.

So sad about the guitar But love how the mousie made you laugh 😁
Your voice is so sweet and lovely and soothing! 💛

Thank you my friend! I have another 6-string in storage, so I'll get it out tomorrow and see what kind of shape it's in. The mouse made me laugh, and curse, and shriek, and... well, it was an eventful night.

I'm glad you enjoy my singing. Thanks so much for the sweet comment. 💖

shhhhh! love it <3 that kind of things that disrupt the general sound of the voice are a gift, apreciatte your vids and your laugh and the mouse ahahah, magic video,thank you (:!!!.

That was so very awesome... great song and funny to see the mouse... I hope you can replace your guitar soon. ;9) and it was so great that you decided to share this take which is totally unique.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83