Steemit Open Mic Week 108: Original Music — Rebel Cry Rising

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

headshot


This is a soulful song, full of wanderlust and willfulness. I published the poem months ago, thinking I’d record the song right away, but time is weird. What does it matter? Be here now.

I may or may not be ridiculously excited about having won a trip to Steemfest3. I may or may not have bounced on my couch in this video. (Bouncing dedicated to @jackmiller, among others.)

OMFG!!!!!!!!!! I'm going to Steemfest!!!

Not only am I going, but I get to sing for all the beautiful people. @roelandp emailed me about performing on Friday evening at Steemfest3. This is real. I’m soooooooooo grateful and thrilled, but I’ll talk about that in another post.

How about some music?

line


Rebel Cry Rising


Rebel cry rises
Behind lips shut tight
Heart pounding a march
Ready for a fight

Mind-mother tries to hush
To soothe, to hide,
But waves crash in my chest
Inside, the rising tide

Soul samurai lifts her sword
Always ready to swing
Mama says relax,
Don’t scream, just sing.

Talk myself down for the thousandth time.
Breathe deep. Go write some rhymes.
Gotta move, gotta run. Stop dancing in place.
This whole blessed world is my sacred space.

I was born to fly
My heart wants free
But in stillness
I learn to breathe a deeper me

Rebel cry rises!
Gotta harness that thing,
Focus it like an arrow,
Make it fucking sing.

There’s an urgency to life,
Makes me want it hard and fast.
How do I live for the long haul
When any day could be the last?

Original songwriting by Katrina Ariel

line

In other news, my recording gear is in! I just have to figure out how it works. Once I get everything in order for Steemfest, I’ll get right on that. ;)

Thanks so much for listening! In case no one has told you today, you’re AMAZING!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @roelandp, @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @guiltyparties, @drakos, @gtg, @curie, @noblewitness, @steemgigs, @c0ff33a, @yabapmatt, @poetsunited, @followbtcnews, @steemcreative, @steemcommunity, @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @lukestokes.mhth, @pfunk, @helpie — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

Thank you to ALL the witnesses who contribute to the stability and evolution of the Steem Blockchain! You are most appreciated.

alliance banner

Sort:  

Hey @katrina-ariel <3

Wish we could be at the Steemfest!

Good luck on the #openmic this week!

Cheers from Brazil 😘

With love,
@trilumia band ✨

Thank you! I wish you could be at SF too! Maybe next year. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congrats on winning/going/performing at Steemfest.

Thank you so much! 💞💞💞

Cool song, with a cool voice. And the very best part is that it's going to SteemFest.

That's a serious accomplishment, and I'm proud of you for 'getting it done'. Just good on you!

Yay! It's amazing, you're right. And thank you! :) 💞

Awesome song and so so cool your going to and singing at Steemfest thats going to be such a blast

Thanks so much, Jay! :) It'll be a ton of fun, I'm sure.

I look forward to your and Enginewittys posts from there

Yeah i am so excited for you, would love to get to go but can not manage it this time, have a great one and I will be thinking of you on the Friday night, lucky buggers getting to hear you sing, you will be great. Shine on my lovely friend xxxx

That's okay. You take care of you. We will meet one day. Thank you so much for the sweet comment Shine on. Much love! :)

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Yaaaay! Congratulations on winning that trip! I am so jealous of all those people who will get the chance to listen to you sing live 💚

Aw, thank you! Huge hugs!!!

Niiiiiiice! like the last verse especially. Using "death as an advisor" to motivate and inspire ourselves is POWERFUL medicine! We are going to fucking die! So write that song and go to SteemFest and ROCK 'EM!

We are going to fucking die! So write that song and go to SteemFest and ROCK 'EM!

YEAH!!!! Also, thank you. ;) It is powerful medicine. Live fully, now is all we have. I appreciate the comment, thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67475.08
ETH 3475.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65