Steemit Open Mic Week 97: "Swing Life Away" (Rise Against Cover) by @k0wsk1

in #openmic6 years ago


Hey all, stoked to be back for yet another Steemit Open Mic! This song was one of the first songs that I learned to play and sing at the same time, back in middle school. I forgot about it for a long time, until the other day when I was out busking and trying to think of every single song I used to know so I didn't repeat the same songs on the street over and over again. It's a really fun one to sing, it lends itself to getting loud and getting into it. I hope you enjoy my cover of "Swing Life Away" by Rise Against:

Original Track:

Lyrics:

Am I loud and clear, or am I breaking up?
Am I still your charm, or am I just bad luck?
Are we getting closer, or are we just getting more lost?

I'll show you mine if you show me yours first
Let's compare scars, I'll tell you whose is worse
Let's unwrite these pages and replace them with our own words

We live on front porches and swing life away,
We get by just fine here on minimum wage
If love is a labor I'll slave till the end,
I won't cross these streets until you hold my hand

I've been here so long, I think that it's time to move
The winter's so cold, summer's over too soon
Let's pack our bags and settle down where palm trees grow

I've got some friends, some that I hardly know
But we've had some times, I wouldn't trade for the world
We chase these days down with talks of the places that we will go

We live on front porches and swing life away
We get by just fine here on minimum wage
If love is a labor I'll slave till the end
I won't cross these streets until you hold my hand until you hold my hand
Until you hold my hand

We live on front porches and swing life away
We get by just fine here on minimum wage
If love is a labor I'll slave till the end
I won't cross these streets until you hold my hand
Until you hold my hand

Swing life away
Swing life away
Swing life away
Swing life away

Thanks as always to the amazing staff of the Steemit Open Mic: @pfunk, @luzcypher, @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, and @meno! You're all awesome for offering this weekly opportunity to Steemians, I feel like I speak for most of us when I say we really appreciate it :)

Thanks for stopping by, friends! <3


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hello great cover you have a beautiful voice. I didn't even knew the original song. I like that you write the lyrics on your post it is a beautiful song. Thanks for sharing your cover:)

Thanks so much!! :)

Me encantó tu interpretación, que hermoso.
Te invito a pasar por mi última publicación https://steemit.com/music/@diosmarymaiz1/criolla-fantasia-autor-luis-laguna-interprete-diosmary-maiz Saludos

¡Muchas gracias por pasar! Para que lo sepas, publicar enlaces a tu propio trabajo sobre cosas de otras personas está mal visto aquí por la mayoría.

Hi @k0wsk1,

I found you through curie - they are having a contest that pays out if you make thoughtful comments on the posts they support. This is interesting, since I am seeing posts I never would otherwise. I am not one to listen to music at all. It distracts me from working and I do not have much downtime.

But this line resonates with me:

"We get by just fine here on minimum wage"

I think I am earning much less than that these days and I still do fine. Relocating to the third world helped quite a bit, and I seem to always get by.

I'm so glad to see you getting support for your music and I'm glad to see this project to support musicians. I believe steemit needs content creators to survive and thrive and music is a language most people understand.

Congrats for the curie vote and best of luck in the contest.

Thank you so much for your lovely comment, @fitinfun!

Music is a language most people understand.

I definitely agree, and this sentiment is inspiring to hear. Sometimes perfectionism takes over and slows me down, but other times the expression flows and the “language” speaks for itself. I didn’t even write this song so that doesn’t even really apply here lol, just a general passing thought.

Good luck in your contest, cheers!

Well done! You got me swinging and singing along! Perfect summer song and I see how you can really get into it. thanks for sharing!

Much appreciated @porters, thanks much for stopping by! :)

You're welcome1 thanks for the uplifting music!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Thank you very much <3

I used to listen a lot of the music created by Rise Against but somehow in the meantime I started finding myself into other genre of music.
Now listening to one of their songs wake up a lot of memories but something is weird (in a good way) because your voice is more warm and so it shows that you feel the song maybe more than they do, and I love that.

I kinda did the same thing, although I listened to Appeal to Reason a lot but never really checked out most of their other music. And I really appreciate your kind words, this song is really close to me. Thanks for checking it out :)

Hi k0wsk1,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

You guys are amazing, thanks so much :)

Hi @k0wsk1 have you heard of Blacksteem $1050 steem daily give away, if not please
Visit
https://fy.gl/blacksteem
stand a chance of winning a $10500 steem jackpot

If it looks like a scam, and it sounds like a scam, it’s probably a scam.

Great cover, keep up the good work!

Thanks m8, much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20