Steemit Open Mic Week 95: "Flightless Bird, American Mouth" (Iron and Wine Cover) by @k0wsk1

in #openmic6 years ago


Hello Steemians, I can't believe we're in week 95 of the Steemit Open Mic... I think I got in around week 82 or 83 and have loved seeing the hard work, talent, and love surrounding this awesome opportunity. It feels like I've been doing this weekly for awhile, but I'm still brand new here compared to many. As I saw on a post somewhere recently, we "live in dog years" here on Steem :)

I hope you like my cover of what is probably Iron and Wine's most popular (and cliche) song, titled "Flightless Bird, American Mouth" from the album "The Shepherd's Dog":

Original Track:

Lyrics:

I was a quick wet boy
Diving too deep for coins
All of your straight blind eyes
Wide on my plastic toys

Then when the cops closed the fair
I cut my long baby hair
Stole me a dog eared map
And called for you everywhere

Have I found you?
Flightless bird, jealous, weeping
Or lost you?
American mouth
Big bill looming

Now I'm a fat house cat
Cursing my sore blunt tongue
Watching the warm poison rats
Curl through the wide white fence cracks

Pissing on magazine photos
Those fishing lures thrown in the cold and clean
Blood of Christ mountain stream

Have I found you?
Flightless bird, brown hair bleeding
Or lost you?
American mouth
Big bill, stuck going down

(looking at these now I realize I got some of the lyrics wrong, I hope you can forgive me)

Thanks as always to the amazing staff of the Steemit Open Mic: @pfunk, @luzcypher, @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, and @meno! This is an incredible opportunity you all provide to people here, we appreciate you!

And a huge thank you to any Steemians that happen to stop by and listen! Long Live the Open Mic!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi man great music and great cover my friend. A hug from Venezuela, congratulations...

Excellent voice, congratulations for such wonderful interpretation, success, greetings!!!.

Thank you for your kind words, @davidsuarezms :)

Great rendition, K0W!
Nice, brother!

Thanks bro! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37