Steemit Open Mic 136 - Freestyle Medley -@jubei333

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)

Hi open mic brothers and sisters!

This week I'm trying something a little different.I recorded an original freestyle medley earlier today which I thought turned out pretty good so figured I would share it here.

What I mean by original freestyle is that I have never played this medley this way before and Im just sort of stringing the songs together of the top of my head.No warm ups ,no retakes just hit record and go for it :).

I'm using the capo on the 5th fret and the chord progression is G,D,Em,C,G,D,C

Since there are a ton of songs that fit that progression I've mixed up several in a sort of freestyle way.

I've used songs from Old Crow Medicine show, The Lighthouse Family,John Denver ,George Ezra and A Hobbit drinking song from Lord of The Rings :).

I think it turned out pretty good,any feedback is much appreciated.Its rare that I get any real feedback on my entries and I feel this is one of my stronger ones so it will be interesting to see what you guys think.

Sort:  

Hey man, you did an awesome medley. Since, I'm a fan of the Lighthouse Family, I just wish that you sang it more. Or maybe do a full-length rendition of the song "High".

I personally think that the raspiness of your voice really fits well to the song and also to the sound of the guitar.

Well done! Congrats on the @curie vote as well.

Thanks for the kind words!I have been meaning to learn the full version of "High" for a while now.This might be just the motivation I need to do so.Thanks for watching my video and taking the time to leave a comment,its much appreciated!

You're welcome, I just searched and listened in youtube the full version of "High", because it get stocked on my head, lol

I went to youtube to listen to it as soon as you mentioned it in your first comment :).I was a kid in the 90s when the lighthouse family songs were played on the radio alot .Their music always takes me on a trip down memory lane.

Hi jubei333,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

hi @jubei333
I must say that I am very ignorant of music and therefore I appreciate and envy all those who sing or play some instrument. I think music is a very emotional form of self expression. Are you a training car? Is music your passion? For this I congratulate you, continue ciosi !!
congratulations and thanks for sharing with us

@jubei333, In my opinion, when it comes to singing, when singer enjoys their song then it showcase love for their music and inturn it gives them joy. And definitely you were enjoying this session. Have a wonderful musical journey ahead.

Posted using Partiko Android

Maravilloso éste trabajo, te deseo lo mejor hermano...

No warmups no retakes, just hit and record & still so amazing. I do my videos in this style like no warms up etc, they turn out better than the practiced ones.

Sometimes we lose the natural essence that way.

Great work and the hat, I like the hat :)

Thank you very much for the kind words.I had a look at your blog you have some very interesting posts there and you are very beautiful.I am following your blog now :).I have a new open mic video to post later today,I think it has turned out pretty good.

Thank you so much for the good words, let me check the post when it comes, I keep looking for good posts to curate on :P :)

Hi there ,Here is my post for this weeks open mic... :).Let me know what you think?
https://steemit.com/openmic/@jubei333/steemit-open-mic-138-whatever-you-want-arlo-mckinley-cover

I learned a new song for this weeks contest, its called Goddamn Lonely Love,thanks for the @helpie vote a resteem last week :).Here is my newest entry...https://steemit.com/openmic/@jubei333/steemit-open-mic-139-goddamn-lonely-love-jason-isbell-cover

Checking it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85