Steemit Open Mic Week 90 - Ode to a Friend (original) by Jon Magnusson

in #openmic6 years ago

This weeks entry for Open Mic is really special since it's the first time I record a performance of my most sentimental and personal song.

"Ode to a Friend" is a song I wrote to a friend who passed away in cancer at the age of 15 and was included on my EP "Psalms for Sinners" released in 2017.

So I really hope you enjoy this tribute to friendship and have a great open mic week!

Lyrics

You were young, you had barely turned fifteen When they stuck you underground You took you're voice and buried it within Oh how I miss that sound

And it was cold, when they took you You were supposed to get old, just like us I never told you, you never heard, what a friend you were

The girl who rose the lust inside your soul Now she is crying infront of me Her tears are falling softly on the floor While she's asking you for peace

And it was cold, when they took you You were supposed to get old, just like us I never told you, you never heard, what a friend you were

I can still remember knocking on your door Just to say goodbye my friend Your father took my hand and shook his head You had already gone away

And it was cold, when they took you You were supposed to get old, just like us I never told you, you never heard, what a friend you were

Listen on

Spotify
Musicoin

Follow Jon Magnusson on


Eclectic Indie Rock/Folk musician from Sweden

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28