Steemit Open Mic Week 82 - (original song) Rain - @johnthefelonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello, Steemit. This is a song I wrote called "Rain."


Lyrics to "Rain"

Draw the shades, turn the lights down low
This feeling's come that I used to know
I know it's just a state of mind
But I've felt it coming for some time
It creeps and claws through my walls
Gets through cracks I couldn't see at all
If I'm headed for a fall
I know it won't come easy

It's getting dark, I hear the rain
Being blown against my window pane
These walls are strong, but I'm concerned about
All of the things I should've learned by now
I guess I'm better off alone
Lock myself inside my home
And be withdrawn from human touch
And things that make me think too much

I gotta keep myself from washing away
If I wait too long, not much will remain
I'll be all gone, just a shell
And blow away, but it's just as well
I gotta keep myself from washing away
Kill the thoughts running through my brain
Stupid things that cause me pain
Like my lonely window streaked with rain

Sort:  

Thanks, and thank you for putting this open mic together. It's become the highlight of my week.

deep and dark. Sounds like a song Jewel's darker-clothes-wearing sister might have done in her early years.

Thanks. It's nice to see there are still some Jewel fans out there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82