OpenMic Week 40: "Gangsta's Paradise (Acoustic Coolio cover)"

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0970.JPG


After last week's Open Mic entry, I had a few people request that I do some more rap songs in my acoustic-style, so here's another one I've enjoyed playing for quite a while.


Headed way back to the 1990's with this bad boy. Hope you enjoy it. I knock the neck of my guitar into my vape sitting on the table next to where I was sitting, so that's the little thud you hear at the end.


Open Mic rawness for you, Steemit.

My forever promise to you.
I hope you dig this acoustic rendition of
Coolio's Gangsta's Paradise.



If there's a rap/hip-hop song you'd like to hear me take a spin at, drop your requests in the comments. I'm currently working on "C.R.E.A.M." (by request) right now.



If you really dig it, give it an upvote on this post, too, for bonus points for me in this week's contest!

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-40-record-your-performance-on-your-phone-enter-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher




Follow @luzcypher for all things Steemit OpenMic Night!




Join Over 100 Musicians and Musical Content Creators on the Steemit Local Music Society on Discord




Check out @virtualgrowth's post about my Steemit musical history HERE.



Follow me @jessamynorchard for more assorted randomness!



Sort:  

Great! I love it! Can you name who wrote the chorus of this song? It's lifted from another artist and it's not Tupac. He lifted it as well.

I love how you formatted this post. It's very visually appealing and thanks for the mention.

I love that i can now listen to you sing at my will. No more waiting for concerts and whatnot. Sorry we had to leave @rockchickjen's birthday early. Would have loved to hear you.

I'm just glad I at least got to hug your necks and hang out for a sesh and a second. Always never enough time, that's for damn sure, but we miss you, and look forward to seeing you guys again sooner than later.

You can hear me doing all kinds of random shit here, so you can have a potential playlist of random right here from Steemit! Especially since most of what I share here aren't public YT files...instead theyr'e Unlisted links that make people come here to see them.

I'm thinking about filming a short Steemit-exclusive concert in the next week or two...newer stuff only. Probably 15 minutes or so.

I like that idea!

That photoshop face swap though 😂😂

If there's one thing I'm good at, it's completely poor ironic photoshop face swapping. Hahahahhahaha!!!

omg love the cover art you made.... then love the green water like light on you. and again another freaking killer cover song.. i love hearing you do this stuff. I covered lil waynes drop the world track and i love the contract from the original hip hop songs to the female acoustic singer songwriter vibe... huge love to this
great work

Thank you so so so incredibly much for the thoughtful comment, @soundlegion. I really appreciate your insight since I know you have a lot of experience and perspective, so seeing what people dig is really cool.

I've recently been using Steemit as a testing ground of sorts for live gigs...seeing which songs people gravitate toward, etc...the crowd here is usually not too far off, so I dig it when people dig it.

Thank you so much.

BTW: I also cover Drop The World, and that's such a carthartic song to sing in general. Love it! Great minds think alike!!

Thank you so much again for your support and your feedback! Means the world!

OMG you are so amazing!!!! you think one of these days you can try Time For That by Kevin Gates, I think that might be a challeging one for you on some parts but I think you got it :) you are absolutly great...also what vape setup do you have?, i vape also and am thinking of making some vape videos also :)

@roguefighter420 Thank you so much for the kind words and for the request. I'll add that to my list, for sure. I work in the vape industry, so my setup changes often. Currently I'm running the Limitless LMC box mod with a CSMNT RDA with dual Aliens running around 75 watts at a 0.2ohm.

We need to start unifying the vape community. I made some posts related to vaping early in my career that were relatively well-received, but I couldn't seem to get the community on board to make regular vaping posts.

If you decide to take the wheel on this, please let me know, because I would love to contribute to the community.

Thats pretty cool, you make your own coils? cause i would love to make some Aliens one of these days but im kinda on a budget so its hard for me to get the material i need, I am thinking of starting some vape post and stuff im just not very good at like editing or stuff like that

@jessamynorchard Bad ass job on the song. Buuuuuuut no braids and no hat or bandana. Who are you? lol. Also a beautiful photoshop job, I like that look on you..

Yesss!!!! My favorite! I miss you Jesso! So glad I have joined all of you guys on Steemit and I can't wait to hear more of your beautiful singing and playing! Love you guuurl!!! (I get a little carried away with exclamation points)

I am so glad you're here!!

@jessamynorchard... Thank You 4 sharing Your music...AND it was really cool to see You, @Papa-Pepper, his son & others at @StellaBelle party last weekend...

Have a Great Week !!

@sacred-agent Thank you so much! That KC Meetup was something special, for sure. Something that will go down in my list of favorites for probably quite sometime.

I love sharing my music, because of comments just like this one. Again, all of my thanks, cheers to a great week to you, as well!! <3

@jessamynorchard... Thank You 4 Your kind words...

You sing & write with Your Heart... it's a very powerful thing...and "touches" in a way that most people will re-member for a very long time...

Thanks Again...

@sacred-agent, I take that statement very seriously in sentiment and sincerely appreciate you telling me that. That's what I aim to do in my original music, and when I play cover tunes, I like to infuse that into every song I play...it all comes from my heart and guts and i don't know any other way to do it (as totally cheesy as that sounds)...so I just really sincerely appreciate your feedback and your amazingly kind words.

...it came directly from my heart...

     ~~~ Namaste ~~~

That was cool, I've never heard a cover of that song before! Ok, now I'm gonna have it stuck in my head all night hahahahahaaa. Rad photoshop too BTW, love the new hair :) :)

@lyndsaybowes Thank you so much as always for your outstanding support and for checking it out! Yeah, I'm pretty stoked on my new 'do. ;)

Yeah I'm glad I found you, thanks to the Open Mic Post directing me to the facebook group!!!

Makes my heart so happy the way the Open Mic community supports, uplifts and informs each other of what's going on, if people are willing to read all of the post. There's so much for the community to offer...we have so much talent on this platform.

@luzcypher really did a great job rallying the troops and making this really become a reality, and I'm so thankful to have watched the community grow since its genesis. Very cool.

So glad to have met you, as well! We have a great bunch of people on this platform, and I feel so privileged anytime anyone takes the time to listen and provide a comment, even a quick one, just really means a lot to me. Thanks again.

Really appreciate your support.

Yes, Luzcypher is Da MAN for realz!! And thank YOU for creating the fb group too, it's a great place to connect with other musicians, I've already met 3 new people because of your group :)

That makes my heart very happy. Between that and the networking going on over at Discord on the Steemit Local Music Society, I'm really excited for what the community is going to come up with next.

So much talent on this platform. So many different skills to collaborate with and build upon with community effort. Stoked for the future of music on Steemit.

Pretty good girl! Look forward to some Wu-Tang...fld, upd n rst

I will definitely add some Wu-Tang to the request list. Any particular song you'd like to hear, @enginewitty?

When you mentioned Cream, I thought you were talking about Cash Rules Everything Around Me...so that'd take me back ;)

Definitely referring to this song. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58