"Steemit Openmic Week 89" Father's Day Tribute.

in #openmic6 years ago


Open mic logo week 89.jpg
This is my second entry into the Steemit Openmic contest.
I made a mistake at the beginning,
I was supposed to state the Correct WEEK # 89, but I was looking at the
Number 88, and that is what I said.
This is the FIFTH take, I didn't want to redo the whole thing over one word,
Eight instead of nine.
I hope it will be acceptable.
Now the song was written by Blinn/Moore, recorded
(where I first heard it) by Chet Atkins (but also by Merle Haggard )
I can't sing/perform this blamed thing without choking up.

This is a tender FATHER'S DAY Tribute.
I hope you enjoy it, complete with mixed up words and all.
Claude with pipe in boat.jpg
↑↑ This is my Father ↑↑
When I was young My dad would say
"C'mon son, let's go out and play"
Sometimes it seems like yesterday

When I was all by myself I'd climb up the closet shelf
Grab his hat and fix the brim
Pretending I was him

No matter, how hard I try
No matter, how many tears I cry
No matter, how many years go by
I still can't say goodbye

He always took care of Mom and me
We all cut down a Christmas tree
He always had some time for me

Wind blows through the trees Street lights, they still shine bright
Most things are the same
But I miss my dad tonight

I walked by a Salvation Army store Saw a hat like my daddy wore
Tried it on when I walked in
Still trying to be like him

No matter, how hard I try No matter, how many years go by
No matter, how many tears I cry
I still can't say goodbye

I love you Daddy



"Steemit OpenMic Week 89"
cover of a Chet Atkins song
By
Jerry E Smith
©6/14/2018



These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



Sort:  

This post has made me tearful. 😢 Shared. Time does not allow us to forget our most significant loved ones.

Had you never heard the song before @coquiunlimited?
Chet Atkins original version is so much better, although
he doesn't choke up the way I did there At the end.
I linked both his and Merle Haggard's versions
In the OP... I like Merle's version better for
The sound and mixing etc...
Click on those links and
Hear what real people
Do with the song.

I don’t believe I may have heard Chet’s version I stopped listening to him for about 10 years, not because of anything just been moving around a lot and that genre of music is nowhere around.

That looked like a babyfaced Vince Gill at :39 seconds in.


I gave you 100% upvote for this comment, but I want some of what you been smokin'
Please? Pretty Please? I appreciate the compliment, but..."Baby Faced"?
Really! I do ha ha ha
image.png

😄 you just had to place that little emoji?! 😆

Which one? The

Or the 🐸

Haven’t heard Merle in ages either! Wow. I’d upvote this if my voting wasn’t so low!

A fine tribute indeed, Jerry! Nice! I miss my Dad too...

Thank you @passion-ground, I appreciate the comment and
You stopping by with some encouragement.

So tender my friend! Beautiful.

Thank you Darren. I was frazzled, trying to deal with failed
Electronics, Repeatedly trying to record the song,
So by the time I got to this take I was
Making colossal blunders; still
I thought it turned out well.
Thanks for the resteem
@darrenclaxton

Thanks my friend, my first couple of takes were better, but the
Camera set up was not working, so after all these tribulations
I was frazzled, and made some colossal mistakes in this one
And didn't have the energy or motivation to try again.
Still, I do think it turned out well. Thanks for the
Resteem and encouragement @darrenclaxton


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you; this is the most attention (and upvote/pay ) any post of
Mine has gotten in a long time. I appreciate the encouragement.

Awesome, I loved it. If that don't make you tear-up then something is wrong. You do stroke the ivories well, what kind of keyboard is it?

Thank you @coinsandchains. The one you see is a yamaha ypg 625...
Weighted Keys, which means it weighs close to 85 lbs. I love it for
PLAYING much more because it is almost like a real piano. Once
I began making enough $ doing this, I bought a ypg 535...which
Is Physically and Electronically Identical, but without all the
Weight that the weighted keys give it. iow the keyboard is
More shallow 'top-to-bottom', but otherwise has all 88
Keys and only weighs 25 lbs. I can pick it up with
one hand. Now, when I put it into the case with
Rollers on one end, where I also pack the
Pedal, power supply, some cords and
Stuff, I can't pick THAT up with one
Hand, but it is still much easier to
Maneuver.
Keyboard_computer.jpg↑YPG 625↑ At my previous residence

Sweet, It's hard to beat a Yamaha for the money....
20180615_225519.jpg

That is (from all I can see) exactly what my first Yammy Hammy Keyboard was.
A Clavinova. I used the hell out of that machine, being in a band, it was very
Difficult moving it with the other band equipment, so I began taking the
Top loose from the base (that way I could actually carry it in the back
Seat of a car). Still, it got dropped a couple of times, fell over once
Each time breaking keys. I watched the tech repair it once and
After that I just bought the parts and did the repair myself.
Its predecessor was a Korg Poly 61. Not even digital nor
Midi, but I made a good bit of money using that as my
Only keys.
image.png

Ah... the life of a working musician.

image.png
image.png

I'm sure it was just an oversight, but you said week 88 in your video but it's week 89. No worries.

Nice song.

Oh yes, it was most definitely a mistake, as I went to a lot of trouble to find out
Which week it was... I just wrote out the wrong number
Thank you very much @luzcypher. Is that a phonetic
For Lucifer, or "luz-cypher" for Light writing?

I commented about this on your OP before I ever posted my VID @luzcypher, I guess you didn't see it 😧

Yes, it takes me quite a while to get to comments because it takes a lot of time to listen to 300 songs a week. Loving all this music, but it is time-consuming. Please forgive me if I don't respond to comments right away.

That's why it takes so long to get to each entry. Sometimes it can take 2-3 days as I do them in the order they come in. I pretty much ignore comments at those times because 9 times out of 10 it's someone asking why I haven't upvoted their post yet. That's why. There are a lot of them. Hahahah!

I've read the threads, so I know there are a lot of comments;
I didn't mean to sound critical. I just meant to indicate that
I did try to bring it to your attention first 😇...that's all.

The lyrics of this song were good, which is heart beat. The wind flows through the tree, the light of the street, they are bright and bright.
Most things are the same
But my dad will miss me tonight ....

Thanks for stopping by and commenting @tigerflora, it actually says
"But I miss my dad, tonight"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81