Steemit Open Mic Week 96- "Breakin' Up is Hard to do" by Neil Sedaka, performed live with and original midi accompaniment

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)



In my 'real life' music incarnation, I play music for folks
In Retirement, Assisted Living and Nursing home venues.
I've played piano for 52 yrs, but I found that to put on a
Better show, I needed to be able to walk around and
Interact with my audience, so I got a wireless mic
System (also a mic on a stand got in the way of
Reading music or lyrics on the piano music rack.
I started out buying midi files:
"Musical Instrument Digital Interface" but that
Became expensive, so I learned how to use
Anvil Studios Midi Editing software to
Create my own Midi's.

So now, I tell my clients I am a "One Man Band" then I
Point to the keyboard and PA system and say
"There's the band, y'all pay me to haul them around.
I play for free"



So I recorded this entry last night along with my midi for
'Breakin up is hard to do', by Neil Sedaka
I hope you all enjoy my rendition.

Steemit Openmic week 96

Breakin Up is Hard to do
Performed by
Jerry E Smith
©7/29/2018



These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



Sort:  

Loved this, Jerry!
Nice work, brother...
Niel is a brilliant songwriter...

Thank you @passion-ground. I'm hoping to have something really nice for next week.
I'm also thinking of doing a tutorial on how I create my midi files (not for the context obviously) What do you think of that?
It would necessarily be a lot longer and detailed.

Looking forward to what you have lurking under your belt for next week, Jerry!


And yes, I think your concept of sharing a tutorial outside of the open-mic venue is a good one. It could help a lot of artists to better understand the general process from your perspective...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85