Steemit OpenMic Week 68 - Vocals/Drums/Piano @ The Same Time - "Lying Next To You" - [Original Song Improvsation Demo]

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

For this week, I decided to make an entry exclusively for Open Mic.

I attempted something I've been wanting to bring to this contest for a while.

I sat down after playing for a contemporary dance class and improvised an idea I had stored in the ol' jaybird bank for some time. That would be the piano lick ft. and the words from 1 lyrical line. I sort of had an idea of what groove I could play along with it and that too was slightly different from take to take. I produced 5 Takes in all [this entry is the 5th take].

Take 1. Used the opening line "Spent some time, lying next to you" as a take off point and then I sort of mumbled through some other at times, non coherent lyrics and melody. During this take I also went for some "chorus or B section chords and melody that I had never added before." I had it in my mind that the chorus would also ft. the lyrics 'When I'm lying next to you."

Take 2. I basically did the same thing as take 1 trying to input anything of substance from the previous improvisation. For example, I kept one 2nd verse line and melody, which was "Spent some time, trying to get close to you" and also the higher verse line referencing "disguises," and it's melody too. The chorus melodies were also kept and continued to mutate accordingly.

Take 3 and 4 where just getting the lyrics and melody in order and practice for take 5.

Take 5 was this unpolished gem. I believe it worked out pretty good for the 20 or so minutes I spent. Of course this is still very much unfinished (no bridge, no instrumentals either, which I really wanted to input using the piano).

Enjoy!



This set of lyrics was written out after the session and is a product of further editing. What I improvised in the 5th take aren't entirely accurate lol. There are also some lyrical options i'm still working with that are indicated by a slash. for now Verse 1 and 2 are identical barring the first line.

When I’m Lying Next You - Jay Sussman (revised Jan 11 2018)

V: I spent some time lying next to you/I Spent some time trying to get close to you
Looked into your eyes tried to break through
You wore/held your disguise better than I thought you would/could
But I guess it’s no surprise you were always the way you were

C:Oh I feel like I could die
When I’m lying next you

O: When I’m lying next to you


JB Lisbon.jpg

jaybird ~

Sort:  

hell yeah my friend goin in!!! drums and piano and sweet vocal... totally groovin love you big my friend great work

Lol thx. Wanted to do something a bit different since other ppl seem to be raising the bar lately

I'm not Not impressed, and you definitely cannot Not multitask like a boss!
This was really fresh bro, you knew this would be a great entry idea and you executed it well, and yes I can tell from a performer's perspective where you got a little shaky wavy but you tightened it back up like a professional and powered through, thanks for the inspiration, i cant even barely sing and play piano at the same time, i never learned nor practiced that much lol

Ha, i’m not surprised that ur not Not impressed ;)

Thanks for the complements via the double negatives lol.

Ya man i really wanted to do 2 separate entries for the openmic contests last week and figured i may as well go hard with both.

Been wanting to do a triple threat openmic entry for a while as well. Sooo finally got one!

You're very welcome bro, you indeed a a triple threat in this one. Keep up the fresh creativity

Wow!! I am seriously impressed by your ability to drum, play piano, and sing at the same time! I think my brain would mutiny if I tried that.

Awesome job, this was a lot of fun to watch!

Thanks, I perform the drums and piano pair enough that I got that down. The singing not so much.
The brain is always on the verge of mutiny in my experience lol.

Very impressive! You needed a harmonica break in there though! ;)

Ha, or a kazoo maybe ;)

Wow, very cool! I like it very much, looks easy goin, but this is really advanced musical multitasking, still tight and groovy!

Thanks, it was on the edge of fucking up lol

Dude, man... talk about multi-tasking... this is insanely good, brother - I loved it! PS... haha I just saw Luz comment AFTER I posted mine... I guess we think alike... lol... The song is great, man, truly!

Thx mon! I feel like most ppl are thinking that when they see a dude playing 3 instruments at once while writing a song haha.

That is fucking phenomenal

throws panties on stage

Woo woo

Your abilities know no bounds. One man band to the max. Holy shit! I am so jealous of your ability to rock three things at once like this.

The lyrics are sexy and so are you. I look forward to it's final version.

Thanks i wrote it about you ;)


HEH, I don't believe you, but I will take the unexpected rush of blood to the ears all the same.

Heh heh. Do u have an endless stockpile of cutesy disney gifs or something lol..?

Only for you.

raw. good stuff. one-man-band steeze. you improvised the lyrics in during the recording?

In the first few takes yes. I eventually has the lines more or less in my mind by the fifth one. I sort of built it all up piece by piece as i was goin along.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42