Steemit OpenMic Week 63 - [Original Song] - "What You Stole"

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Alright Alright, Steemit Open Mic Week 63....

Here's my Dual Entry for Open Mic & (the super fun) Steemit Songwriter's Challenge Week 3. The theme was "Stolen Soul."

Week 3 was difficult for me bc I never really found a genuine inspiration from this particular theme. The previous 2 seemed to come much more naturally, and even despite fighting against the instinct to write a love song for Week 2.

It was a real challenge in week 3 to come up with this song & TBH, I almost ditched it. I even started work on a new song. I broke for dinner in the early eve (sat) having been working on music all afternoon and when I returned, I decided to try the first tune again (since it was getting stuck in my head). However this time, I just gave er, tried to breath new life into a seemingly stale chorus and to not worrying about where the vocal lines (in the verse) went to much.

The result was....satisfactory for me I guess lol, only in that personally I expect more from myself & I know I can perform & write way at a higher level than what I captured here. Nonetheless, I still think it turned out okay in some sense bc there seems to be some interesting innovations that occurred due to the spontaneity factor (the mother of invention), which I think helped improve the tune significantly.

Alas, I ran outta time after the odd ball perf and decided to just go with it keeping in mind, these are just rough demos of tunes I'm amassing.

Here's a nice sloppy performance of my tune for ya'll ;)



What You Stole

Driving coast-to-coast trying to settle an old score
So many things were left said been down this road before
We used to share the same souls now only mine you seem to hold
And where is yours cause I can’t to find but taking it is on my mind

I’ve seen through no longer blind if can’t have you then I resign
To take my share and leave you behind

So give back my soul that you stole
Don’t use the name that only I called (you)
Give back give back what you stole
Or I’ll take it all

I drive a road that never ends headlights lighting every bend
I can’t pretend no I can’t pretend that you’re my friend
That we’re better off apart I stand beside you but feel so far
You broke my heart and I broke yours

I’ve seen through no longer blind if can’t have you then I resign
To take my share and leave you behind

So give back my soul that you stole
Don’t use the name that only I called (you)
Give back give back what you stole
Or I’ll take it all

We are a million miles apart
Instead of shining with the stars
My mind races into the dark
Once I get my share I can restart


JB Lisbon.jpg

jaybird ~

Sort:  

Nice. Good job. Thanks for sharing

Love the rhythm on this one.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Nevermind what I stole - you just keep stealing all of our hearts @jaybird!

pfhahah, jeezus... Thanks budd, hilarious ;)

Rocking bro!, never disappointing!

Thank you man! So much pressure ;)

Congratulations @jaybird! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

you are a fucking rock star Jay! love every one of your tunes!

haha thx Bonnie!

Struggling with this weeks theme again jeez! Will record something tomorrow I hope !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63