Openmic Week 59 - Original Song - Life Goes On - Jaybird

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

So in the absence of Dan who is still parading around Germany hanging with Crypto-Babes, I've taken this opportunity to enter Openmic solo.

This is a tune I've been working on for sometime and finally, think I got the lyrics, form, dynamics and guitar vibe all correct.

As always, there's a few low points in the performance (in my eyes) however, I think it gets the sentiment across.

I hope you enjoy!



Life Goes On – Jay Sussman - Aug - Nov 2017

When I saw her standing there
Could not believe how she stared
Back at me
So I turned walked away
I didn’t think I could make her stay
But now I’m seeing her face still seeing her face

We didn’t know
From the start
That what we had
Would rip apart
And change our minds
Make us feel this way
Now it’s gone
Baby life goes on

It’s been a week and there she was
Cannot believe another chance has come
I’ve been seeing here face still seeing her face
But there she goes walking away
I lose my breath calling out her name
Now she’s mine at least tonight

We didn’t know
From the start
That what we had
Would rip apart
And change our minds
Make us feel this way
Now it’s gone
Baby life goes on

Whoa life goes on x2

We didn’t know
From the start
That what we had
Would rip apart
And change our minds
Make us feel this way
Now it’s gone
Baby life goes on

But I’m still seeing here face


IMG_0421.jpg

jaybird ~

Sort:  

Lucky Dan... Ain't nothin' like the Crypto-Babes....

Haha your song sounds good my friend! Keep on rockin' you guys are takin' over the blockchain

haha, ya lucky bastard indeed. Why do you think i'm writing sad songs for oepnmic ;)

Thx brotha!

BTW, did you take any steembirds footage that you wouldn't mind sending to us? I still haven't seen anything much from that night lol.

I know i have a short snapchat clip of the “drinkin’ on steemit again” singalong that I’m going to upload soon. I still have so much to sort through from Lisbon. There’s a chance @tomasgeorge filmed the whole thing, I remember him standing by a tripod most of the night.

Sweet thx for the insight on @tomasgeorge. I'll follow up. And if you end up posting anything let me know. I also want to find that video of me singing @martibis 's poem in the art gallery

@basilmarples has that one! I have some pictures of it going down which I will be posting this week as well. That really was epic

Right right! thx mon!

@jaybird i just love you so much this is great great great. jaybird flavor all over ! great song , addicted to the trailing tail end of your notes, love it. I need to get an original song from your for the volume 3 steemit artist comp. hit me up if you wanna drop a tune in, [email protected]

Hell ya I'm in! I cannot believe i didn't see the post. I guess bc I recalled it occurring in December..

Thanks for your kind words btw. I actually worked pretty long and hard on this one. It was an idea that never truly took shape for several months. I'm always glad to hear that you're getting a good listen outta my tunes ;)

Wow you've nailed it with the high notes! Some dents and scratches make it real and have such songs stick out from the autotune shit of presents days pop songs, while yours is absolutely authentic and great!

Thanks! I worked a long while trying to get a "perfect" take... it almost happened a few times actually, eventually I figured it just wasn't meant to come out that way ;)

Appreciate the kind words and feedback !

what the **** sir you nailed it!.. can you give me a piece of your singing talent? hehehe I love to play it over and over and over and over.... the rhythm of your song is kinda drug sucks into my brain.. love it!!

Thanks I think.... "Drug Sucks into my brain" lol i hope that's a good thing ;)

Ooooh, like it, sounds bittersweet and very cool dynamics. Typical Dan to simply off and leave you. Pshh friends! 🙄

haha yea, it's all good, we spent a lot of time together at SF, so maybe a week off is a good thing ;)

Thanks for the kind words!

Love this, dude! Awesome melodic transitions - and I dug the roller-coaster ending... Nice, Brother!

Thx Passion, yea.. i kinda had a mechanical break down at the end lol.. my hands just stopped playing and my voice cracked hahaha. shit..

Hmmm... didn't catch the cracks... I thought it was all intentional - the slowing down of the pace - then picking it right back up again... Hey man, sometimes "the mistakes" make for gems that we weren't expecting.... Leave em' in so say many award winning producers.... You rock, Jaybird!

Part of it was intentional and went according to plan lol. There was just an abrupt stop before i actually wanted to pause and then do the final line. Caught me off guard at the time, I think I hid it well haha.

You're right tho, sometimes the "mistakes" are the mother of invention and make for the best moments.

Dude, I love it. You nailed this. Great performance.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

A beautiful angst to the lyrics that I like. Have you been love sick?

all my life ;)

or like since grade 4 lol

4th grade Jay eh...hmmm probably a lady killer back then too, if l was placing bets.

Brilliant performance man. Love that strum with the great vocals as always. Stay fresh my friend!

Thanks T-dawg. I worked quite a bit on this one. Trying to increase my guitar power lately!

that strum, that strum

Really nice dude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63270.29
ETH 3464.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51