Open Mic Week 50 - "Your Love" - jaybird - [Original Song Demo]

in #openmic7 years ago

Man, I've been trying to get 3 different songs together for the past few open mics and just haven't been able to either finish them quite right, or get a solid version down...

So this idea popped into my head randomly when I woke up a few weeks back and I made a quick acoustic (groggy voiced) recording of it...forgot about it and then rediscovered it a few days ago and made this tune for Open Mic instead.

It's still pretty rough and my bro's guitar (i'm playing on in this vid) is like playing in 10xs gravity! Despite that, I believe that I got a descent take !

Hope you enjoy!



Lyrics (since I mumbled and screwed em up a little)

Your Love – Jay Sussman Sept 8 2017

C: I don’t really need your love now baby
I don’t really need your love

V: There was a time when I just wanted you
For you there wasn’t anything that I wouldn’t do
I took my life/heart and put it in your hands
Cause love is something you and I both understand

P: But when you tried to give your self away
For a time I thought that you and I could stay the same
Realized that I’m the one who’d been
Hypnotized by what we used to be

V: I was walking down the beach last night
Saw your face and knew that I had caught your eye
Tried to seem like I was still undone
But in my eyes you saw that I was long gone

B: And without your love I’m free to roam do anything that I please
Didn’t know it then but what you had was power over me
Without your love I’ve traveled the world and finally found my peace
I can’t go back with you to the past there’s nothing there I need


jaybird Steemit.jpg

jaybird ~

Sort:  

Nice one @jaybird! Looking forward to hearing more. 10x gravity haha reminds me of my old Sammick acoustic 😋

Ya this one is an 15 year old (or more), hasn't been touched or set up in years, lying in the basement guitar...was visiting my folk when I made that video...

lol

Nice! It definitely pays to stash a spare guitar away at the folks place haha

Nicely done! You have a great voice and I dig the strumming pattern! :)

Thx! Appreciate you checkin it out & speaking ur mind

Nice one @jaybird. You're a fountain of music.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Catchy, man... Very nice melodic lyrical hooks... I liked it a lot! I guess you're done with her, huh? haha... Nice bro!

haha who knows...

Thanks mon, I think it has some potential. We'll c if it make the cut !

Congratulations @jaybird! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Powerful voice. Like the call and response with the guitar. Rock on.

thx brotha, I tried to up the guitar a bit in some sense, although in another sense i think it also degraded bc of that haha

Wow! I love ❤️ this song, You performed the song with great skill and feeling, I like when you play the guitar 🎸, it touched my emotions.

Thanks CW ! glad you like me for more than just my sandwiches ;) haha

You got a powerful voice Jay! Nice song, always good to hear one from you.

Thx Bud, Appreciate you taking a listen !

So nice - snazzy jacket too

alright 💕

what a babe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47