Steemit Open Mic Week 44 - Original song "Party Song" by Open Sorcerer afrobeaty jazz breakbeat from Oakland, CA

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hi Open Mic-ers!

Here's an original from my trio, Open Sorcerer, called "Party Song." There's a kind of story that goes along with the song, included below the video in case that'd be fun for you. No spoilers if you want to experience it pre-story :)

Big thanks to @pfunk and @luzcypher for running this fabulous game. We love this opportunity to play for y'all Steemians.

Let us know what you think!

~Jared & Open Sorcerer, from Oakland, CA~

.

.

.

.

.

.

The story behind Party Song

Basically, I wrote this song to be like the progression I often feel at parties-- I show up and I'm super excited, things are poppin... I reconnect with old friends or meet new people, get into some good conversation, feeling the good vibes... then at some point, things maybe get a little awkward and I'm not sure who to talk to, or I say something someone doesn't know how to react to, or start conversations with folks that just don't flow for whatever reason... so I wander off, wondering "why am I here again," maybe doubting myself or the situation, feeling insecure... until hopefully I eventually remember that no matter what's going on around me I can always be me, get comfortable again, and paaarrrrtttyyyyy.

Sort:  

I really enjoyed this. Also I love the thought process with the stages of "the party". Songs great and I'm looking forward to hearing more.

Great to hear-- thanks for sharing!

Unique concept for this arrangement... You guys are tight!

Thanks!! Glad you dug it.

I'm proud of that composition for sure, some pretty fun stuff to improvise over :)

Thanks for playing Steemit Open Mic.

be_yourself.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67477.32
ETH 3474.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69