Steemit Open Mic Week 68 - Original Song “Coffee”

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello Open Mic!! Thanks so much for this opportunity to share my music! This is an original song. Here are the lyrics:

Coffee

He makes my coffee, every day
Yet there’s never much that
Either of us has to say

Empty voices, empty walls
Random scattered memories
Echo in the halls

I’ll take the sofa, he’ll take the chair
It wouldn’t look the same
Without him sitting there

Box of pictures, who would know
For over thirty years
That’s all that’s left to show

But it’s not love
Only quintessential everydayness
That could never seem to find an end

A hand in glove
Seemed to fit together at the party
Then at home to find we’re only friends
Lonely friends

No, it ain’t love
I could never live with him
Or live without him
Isn’t that the way it goes?

What’s it made of?
Wasn’t there supposed to be some passion
Maybe in a kiss or touch, who knows
Who knows

I’ll keep his number, wish him well
God, I’m sure this way is better
Only time will tell

I hope his new horizon brings
Someone who appreciates
The little things

And he still makes my coffee…

Thanks for listening!!
Please Upvote, Share, and Follow!!
THANKS SO MUCH!!

Sort:  

Lovely voice! The jazzy chords are fabulous! I do hope you share more in the future! :)

Thank you!! It was my first time in Open Mic. I hope to do more in the future.

You have such a lovely voice and you're classy and well poised. Thank you for this really nice original song that makes me want to assume you have interwoven some real life experience into this almost tangible feeling of affection and care. If not, you have a vivid creativity worth expressing

You made it in my Top 5 Judging List For Week 68
Check out the full review here.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-68-original-blog

Thank you for the lovely words @verbal-d. This encourages me to participate again. I appreciate it!

You are most welcome indeed, looking forward to another entry from you.

Beautiful song!

Thanks so much!

Love your performance and voice.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks @luzcypher! I had trouble getting it posted. Glad you found it:)

Wow, ummm, wow, those lyrics and your voice is lovely!! Such simplicity in the lyrics that say volumes...I really Loved it <3

I really appreciate that @cvmidwife! I’m sitting here having coffee, watching the other participants on YouTube on my TV. Great talent out there!

Wow!

Love this! So happy to see that you took the leap. :)

Thanks for al the encouragement over this last year! I appreciate you:)

Thanks for sharing this. It inspires me to make more music!

OH WOW!! That is the best that a musician could hope for...to inspire other musicians to make more music! Bring it!!

love your voice!

I loved this - what a great composition and performance! Welcome to the Open-Mic!

Thanks so much for the warm welcome @passion-ground!

Really lovely song, the lyrics are quite sad though, I make my wife coffee every morning, and she has never made a song and dance over it! My chair is the one in front of the computer though, so if I'm not sitting in it, she can use the laptop to check the weather! Thanks so much for sharing. Your voice is very Nora Jones-y I would love to hear more...?

Thank you @tombdbad! I always thanked him, but I didn’t make a big deal about the coffee until it was over. My idea was that we had a daily routine we did, but there was nothing more. So yes it was very sad. However I’m sure your wife appreciates your coffee more than you realize. Keep making that coffee:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43