Steemit Open Mic Week 46 - Belong - My Original Song About Searching For The Faith I Had Lost

in #openmic7 years ago

When I was 16, a light switch went off in my head and I went from being a carefree, happy soul to feeling like I didn't want to exist anymore.
I have struggled my entire adult life with these feelings of depression and also feeling lost without faith or spirituality.
This song is a product of those feelings.
My depression and anxiety have caused me to feel alone and isolated for most of my life, like I don't Belong.

Belong

You swim in the moonlight
You live in a dream
Letting time erase what you can't face
You slip outside your memory
You wake in the morning
You sting like a bee
And this light that was my life is somewhere lost inside your memory
Carry me
I'm a broken wing
Lift me up as I'm going under
Unredeemed because I don't believe
So I'll use your faith to carry me
This is not the way it was supposed to be
I am just a broken wing
Lift me up because I'm going under
And I don't belong
Afraid of the daylight
Afraid of my dreams
I am left of what is right
My center's flight crashed down in tragedy
This film isn't my life
I only act out the scenes
And this pill helps me project as I should, but I don't feel anything
Carry me
I'm a broken wing
Lift me up as I'm going under
Unredeemed because I don't believe
So I'll use your faith to carry me
This is not the way it was supposed to be
I am just a broken wing
Lift me up because I'm going under
And I don't belong

accent-clipart-13309573511112670181decorative-lines-2_large.png

Thank you for listening and reading!
@isaria

follow tag.png



Proud member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut

New Pal tag.gif

Sort:  

👏👏👏 Some deep and personal feelings you're expressing there Isaria. Very effectively discordant at times. Thanks for sharing yours songs here on the open mic.

Thank you so much, I always appreciate your input. :-)

upvoted and resteemed. I feel exactly the same way. It's exhausting. Simply reading this post has me in tears. Bawling, actually. Thank you for sharing this.

I'm so sorry that this brought you to tears, but I am moved that you understand and can relate to what I'm saying. It is exhausting. :(
Sometimes when I hear this song I start crying.
Thank you so much for resteeming! I had to work on Friday during your radio show, but I heard it was great. I look forward to listening this Friday!

Amazing! congrats!... So much talent around!

Thank you!!!

Very amazing , I loved it , This is a kind of music that I always love to hear. <3 up and resteemed

Thank you so much David <3

So beautiful song. Good post!

Thank you!

Beautiful song!
Thank you for playing!

Thank you!

Thank you so much!!!

Radio hit right here. Your voice always blends so well with the chords. One of those songs where you don't even have to know the words because you can tell the emotion by the sound. Well done.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate your thoughtful and kind words. :-)

This post has been resteemed by @msp-shanehug courtesy of @swelker101 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83