Steemit Open Mic Week 43 - PURPLE RAIN - My Tribute to PRINCE

in #openmic7 years ago

This is my arrangement of Purple Rain which I created as a tribute to Prince.


April 21, 2016

The day that Prince died I felt the same way I feel when any celebrity dies; a mild feeling of sorrow, but a bit detached because I didn’t really “know” the person.
So, I was shocked when I woke up the following day with a feeling of intense loss and sadness. This feeling of loss lasted for about a month and I still feel sorrow when I think about it.

I had never felt this way about a celebrity death before so it was a bit confusing for me.
But, after some reflection I realized how important Prince was during my formative years.
He was such a huge influence on me musically. I looked up to him so much and saw him as a musical genius.

It is a rare combination for an entertainer to be talented in so many amazing ways: composer, guitarist, pianist, drummer, dancer, producer, engineer, singer, and performer.

I wanted to be Prince when I was growing up. He simply amazed me album after album.
So, I guess in a way, I felt that part of me died when he did.

The day after he died I decided to honor his memory by creating an arrangement of what I still believe to be his most beautiful song, and one of the most beautiful songs in existence.
I can not do this song justice, but it was important to me to give back to someone who meant so much to me during my life.

hqdefault.jpg

y.jpg

accent-clipart-13309573511112670181decorative-lines-2_large.png

Thank you for listening and reading!
@isaria

follow tag.png

Proud member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut

New Pal tag.gif

Sort:  

Beautiful Just freaking beautiful! Great Job @isaria !

My band used to play this song & I used to sing a long time ago.
Prince will always be remembered :)
Beautiful arrangement, Isaria :)
Upvoted & Followed :)
Feel free to check out my videos, as well, mainly shot around my tiny but beautiful city, Singapore :)

Have a great day :)

Thank you so much, followed you as well. :-)

Very beautiful. lovely voice. Nice arrangement.

Cool rendition of a great song, good job!

Thanks! I'll be by to upvote your latest when I'm back up to full power. :)

Lovely arrangement there Isaria... haunting and heart touching.

Thank you so much! I'll be voting on your latest when I'm back up to full power!

I like it , you play it great. RIP Prince.

Beautiful arrangement of a classic. Very well played. Your voice is very haunting even though in the live mix i had to use headphones to discern the words. Keep the music alive.
Peace and love !!!

Thank you!

Nice arrangement! I remember I felt sad when I heard the news he died! Great cover though! ! !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63079.17
ETH 3466.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51