Steemit Open Mic Week 49: matt sokol - pictures of me (elliott smith cover)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Finally getting back into the Steemit Open Mic! There's a secret micro-VLOG at the start of this, then the song happens at 1:00.

NOTE: The first ~10 seconds of this are a little pitchy, for exactly the reason I talk about at the beginning of the video... nerves! But it gets really awesome after that, so I wanted to share this take anyway.

I hope you enjoy it... any other Elliott Smith fans in the house? If so, what is your favorite song?

Sort:  

Hey dude. Nice video - good job on the cover. I love Elliott Smith. So many favourite songs - he was like the Beatles, every one of his songs/albums are amazing - not a single bad one in the bunch.

Thanks dude! I agree with you, Elliott had that Beatles vibe for sure. Maybe one of the reasons so many people love him

Matt, first off - I loved your intro... You are right smack in the middle of "REAL," and there ain't nuthin' I love better than "real!" I loved this, man! You ROCK bro!

Thanks so much, that's what I try to do... I used to worry about being cool or whatever, then I realized just being myself was the coolest thing I could choose. cheers!

Well I certainly won't be doing any open mics any time soon but I like what you said in the vlog part about just putting yourself out there as a way to build your skills and confidence. I've found that Steemit has given me that little extra motivation I needed to go beyond writing something every day, and actually publish and share something every day. It makes a huge difference.

That's awesome that you are noticing the difference... it's like being able to go out and play a gig every day, or have an art exhibit every week. It makes sense that a lot of us are feeling the benefits, I hope it keeps going this way.

Nice! You actually kinda sound like him. Between the Bars and Angeles are prob my favs. Mainstream choices, but they're just too good. Nice job @heymattsokol

Thanks a lot for listening @design-guy! Both of your choices are great songs, when I was younger Angeles was one of my favorite tunes in the whole world.

Ha! Awesome! :)
It's funny how your whole playing changed after the refrain! It's like you just let yourself out on that part, and after that you really started "jamming" the song.

Do more Elliott! <3

Thanks so much dimitri! I definitely felt like I found my groove there towards the end like you said :-).

I could do some more Elliott... there's so many great songs to pick

I didn't do vlogs, or perform with a musical instrument, but I know the tense feeling when I do something like start a presentation. But within 1 minute that tense is usually gone. I guess a kind of stage fright that stops when in the act. Nice song BTW.

That is the nice thing, usually it does fade away pretty quick. Thanks for checking it out :-)

Nice work man, I dig it. Good save when the phone rang too, haha.

Elliott Smith is another one of those artists that I've been meaning to get into for a while. I'll have to get around to him eventually.

I was really proud of myself. I'm gonna cut out that moment for instagram I think haha.

You gotta get into Smith man, he's the absolute best at what he did. His album "XO" is front to back incredible, not a single bad song.

Nah man, I think you should leave it in, it's more real, more raw, haha.

I'll definitely give him a listen soon, I could do with a good dose of some melancholia and I think he might just fit the bill.

I meant I'll cut a clip of JUST that because I'm proud of it hah. Not cut it out

Ah. Haha, that makes much more sense, I was wondering how you could possibly edit it out of the video.

I think I usually associate the word "cut" with getting rid of something, but now that you've clarified it I can't think of any other word that could be used in the context of making a video clip, haha.

Always be playing and performing. After a while, the nerves go away.

God to see you back.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Steemit Open Mic night is a blast. This was great @heymattsokol! Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks voronoi! :-D

Well played... I love Elliott Smith too, and his stuff is tough to cover. The album 'Elliott Smith' is my favourite, but couldn't name a single song... many great ones.

I get that tension as soon as the camera comes on too... it's almost as bad as playing live!

Man I haven't listened to the self-titled in a while... you're jogging my memory on that. "Needle in the Hay" is on there, that's one of the ultimate classics.

Yes, I really like the consecutive trio of Southern Belle, Single File and Coming Up Roses too. Waltz #2 on XO is also brilliant - listening now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48