Open Mic Week 36: matt sokol - cruisin' (original song // more splitscreen action)

in #openmic7 years ago

Yo, steemit! So many of you have so nice to me these last few weeks. THANK YOU! I feel like a million bucks.

I read all the comments from last week and it sounds like Splitscreen Music Videos are a popular idea! There have been a lot of other Steemians asking about how to do it - I'm almost done preparing a guide. I will post a "How To" for splitscreen vids this week, I PROMISE!

One other thing - if you don't mind doing me a favor, I will be SO HAPPY if you sign up for my email newsletter. it takes 10 seconds to do it, just enter your email here --> https://mattsokol.us

Here's my submission for this week - an original instrumental math rock tune called "cruisin'".

My goal here was to expand on the composition (last week was super simple, this one is more intricate to me) while also boosting the video quality. Adding the little black "border" line between the different screens made a HUGE difference.

I also played around with editing, adding in the sheet music for the melody in the second half so you can watch and hear the melody at the same time.

it's worth mentioning that my audio interface BROKE right in the middle of recording this. I had to do guitars on my cell phone microphone. I would like to give a HUGE THANKS to @luzcypher and @pfunk - I was able to buy a new $200 audio interface thanks to my earnings from Open Mic Week. Without your hard work supporting open mic, I might be in a bad spot right now. I am filled with gratitude.

ok that's all for this week - can't wait to hear everybody's songs. peace out :-)

Sort:  

Shades of Fripp and Zappa!

Hell yeah! ultimate compliment :-D

This is sick. :D

Man, every you entry you do just keeps getting better. Your drum lines are so much fun! It's also fun to have the 3 views. This is a great style man. Looking forward to the tutorial!

I'm excited for the tutorial too - it'll be cool if anybody else tries to make one. thank youuuu

Drummer extraordinaire, plays left handed or right handed(this might be magic). Thanks as always, you rock Brother! Looking forward to your video tips for split screen.

hah thanks a lot @brimax

Thanks for the great performance. Like I said, looking forward to you multi-cam lesson.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.77
ETH 2736.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60