Open Mic Week 32 - indie rock exploration: "Quarry", inspired by nelson mandela.

in #openmic7 years ago

Here's a song I wrote about two years ago in NYC, called "Quarry." Scroll past the video for a blog post about how the track was inspired - makes for good reading as you listen :-). peace out!


While living in NYC, I read Nelson Mandela's autobiography "The Long Walk to Freedom".

The story of Mandela's life is utterly foreign to my own. He recounts his youth in a Xhosa tribe where they had no electricity or running water. It's a completely different conception of life - in some ways much freer, in others much more humble than my own.

It's completely foreign to me. On one hand, I envy the idea of a childhood without mass media being piped into your brain 24/7. You could actually sit and think for yourself in some quiet surroundings.

On the other hand, you are removed from any ambition or connection to the global culture. Nelson Mandela himself admits that, were it not for a stroke of luck that sent him away, he may have never left the tribe. The rest of the world would never have met the remarkable man.

Later in his life, Nelson was famously imprisoned for 27 years. This is the part of the story that inspires me. In his late 40's, jailed as a political dissident, he has no reason to feel optimistic anymore. For several years he wallows in pity, but then discovers that he can still act with his own free will.

After that moment, he spends his near-three-decades in jail slowly reclaiming his freedoms. Outsmarting and out-maneuvering his captors, he gets bigger prison cells, then roommates, then his own house in a locked compound. Finally he emerges from jail, triumphant, to lead the nation as president.

For anybody like myself - a young adult working the slow grind towards financial stability & creative fulfillment - it's an important lesson. Patience and gratitude are hard to learn in this society - but when I look at Nelson's 27 years of prison time, I am forced to recognize my luck and good fortune.

Even if life is painfully slow and awkward at times - like right now, as I save money to move to the city - it's a hell of a easier for most of us than it was for Nelson Mandela.

Anyway, this song is about the idea of maintaining hope in the face of adversity. It starts out in Nelson's situation with the first few verses, then shifts to a more modern day perspective. I hope you dig it.


follow me: @heymattsokol


one more thing before you go - have you heard of my "Spirit Medicine" mailing list? it's got new music, musings, and recommendations from me. I send it to your inbox twice a month, so you can enjoy my stuff whenever it is convenient for you.
if you enjoy my content, this is a 100% super helpful way to support me :-D. click here: https://www.mattsokol.us/

Sort:  

Cool song and good performance bro, keep writing!!

THANK YOU!!! :-D

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.70 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

WOW niceeeeeee SONGGG :) ..! my friend

i loved it!!! I love the hair as well and the story with the song, your gel my friend nice work. great vocal great playin great tune. The lyrics are amazing. The bridge part was amazing. top to bottom love

thanks so much @soundlegion!! those are some ultra kind words. glad you dig it

I might have to get a haircut soon tho XD

Nice job Brother!

You're welcome Brother.

Very cool. Love the back story.

Wonderful entry, I always enjoy hearing original material and to read the inspiration backstory to the song was nice as well. Thoroughly enjoyed the experimental creativity with this one bro. Best of luck to your entry, thanks for sharing Upvoted

You're most welcome, hope you enjoyed my performance as well. So many talented artists to connect with through our open mic steemit community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41