Open Mic Week 82 - Shoshe Ka Chashma by Alif (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello Open Mic People!

We (Mohammad Muneem & I ) are back after a long time!!! 😎

Been busy with a lot of stuff and still nowhere close to having free time. But we were rehearsing for a gig which is on the 28th and I thought we could quickly squeeze in an Open Mic entry.

So this is just a 2 track bounce directly from the mixer.

Here is the gig poster in case anyone is in Mumbai and wants to drop in 🙌🏽

31317794_10157642093873508_2288540514418425856_n.jpg


About The Track:

Shoshe Ka Chashma is the 5th track from the album Sufayed by my band Alif. (@wordsofalif)

Shoshe Ka Chashma literally means "The Show-Off Goggles".
"Shosha" is a term used often in North-India is it means showing-off.

The song talks about how today's world is drowned vanity and unless you "show-off" your talent, no-one is going to acknowledge it.
So here we are, showing off at the Open Mic 🤓

Lyrics:

khamoshi beychoun,chillayega koun
gar baksay mein rakh chodoun khareedega koun
har fann kay maula miltay hai roz
kis se main seekhoun, sikhayega koun

yeh jo shosha hai tera jo hai aabne khareeda
kaisay mein beychoun

aainay se baatein karta houn kyun
uss kounay mein mera bistar hai, sulayega koun

haan khud ki zehmat hoon, nibhana kusoor
par shoshe ka chasma lagana zaroor

ye jo bezaar khazaney hai,
sabke sab jo tumhare hai
kaise mein beychoun

chadar hai bistar hai takiya bhi hai
kaisay mein sou zaalim aashiq beparda hai
kehnay ko tou ye mohabbat bechain hai
hargiz issmein tum na padna khoobsurat hai

kya mein bechoun kya kareedoun shosha hai
kyun mein bechoun kyun kareedoun shosha hai
unko dekhoun khud ko dekhoun shosha hai
kya mein bechoun kya kareedoun shosha hai

Translation (almost literal):

If I sell my silence, who is going to scream?
If I box it up, who will buy it?
I meet people with different talents every day
Whom must I learn from, who will teach me

This "Show-off" of yours, which everyone has bought
How do I sell?

Why do I talk to the mirror?
My bed is in that corner, who will put me to sleep?

I do have to fulfil this pain and uneasiness inside of me
But putting on the "Show-off Goggles" is necessary

All these uninteresting treasures are all yours
How do I sell?

My quilt, my bed, my pillow, it is all there
But how do I sleep, my oppressive lover is unveiled
This love is said to be restless
But do not fall for it, for it is beautiful

what do I sell, what do I buy, its all a "show-off"
why must I sell, why must I sell its all a "show-off"
I see them, I see myself its all a "show-off"
what do I sell, what do I buy, its all a "show-off"

Here is a lyrics Video for the original song:

Sort:  

sooo great to hear you guys this week... fantastic work

Thank you so much! Good to see your comment :)

Sounds really good guys!

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you thank you! ✨🙏🏻

Quite nice, gentlemen!

The judge has spoken! 😁
Thank you 🙏🏻✨

you guys are like the Keith Emerson and Greg Lake of India. I can imagine that percussion added would make it incendiary!

wow that's really humbling! Thank you 🙏🏼 ✨

Now at least I can listen to some good hindi music here on steemit.

😁🙌🏽
Thank you! Check out the album as well if you liked this song. You'll find it on www.wordsofalif.com

This is great!! So glad I found you through the eyes on post from the alliance :)
How was your gig?

Hey @mariannewest thank you so much :)
The gig was great. One of the better ones where we made a mark :)

So glad to hear that!! Hope you have many more gigs you feel great about.

This post was upvoted by #thethreehugs.

You will find my active post here: #thethreehugs

Awesome mates, really nice to listen to ^^
If you're ever in need of a bassist, contact me
if you want, you can check my channel to hear how I play and if you could picture it as part of your music 😊

Thanks man! Will check your posts out :)

I liked the feel of the song, the music, vocalist's voice !!! But the way you spelled out the lyrics, i mean its tough to understand until one doesn't read the lyrics that you provided !!

But new ideas and new ways are something I always appreciate. Keep the game going !!

Liked it !

Hey @himshweta thanks! Like I said, its a direct 2 track from the mixer so we couldn't mix everything separately. The PA out and stereo recording out sometimes have level differences and hence the vocals were probably not clear.
I've given the link to the full produced track from our album at the end which is also a lyrics video. Do check it out.
Cheers!
PS: You will soon hear our songs in 2 Bollywood movies - Imtiaz Ali's Laila Majnu and Sanjay Dutt's Torbaaz. Both movies releasing this year. :)

Woah !!! Thats awesome !!

Congratulations :D

omg, i really love it. So sweet melody! Congrats guys! You have my vote. If you like take a look at my blog! good luck!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44