You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit OpenMic Week 71 - Original song "You an me"

in #openmic6 years ago

Thank you for the compliment. And yes that is quite the set-up! I have never even heard of a mic for just the neck before, that's pretty cool. No wonder you have such good sound there! I would love to whine about all the equipment I should have, but, it's my fault for choosing other things over my music :/ Hope that is in my past though, and can use Steemit to grow musically and as a motivation; there are definitely a lot of talented people on here so the "competition" is pretty fierce!

Sort:  

I wouldn't stress too much about the competition mate, just put your heart and soul into it and you're guaranteed to find support here. A handful of upvoted posts and you'll be upgrading your setup in no time 😉

Yeah... you're probably right... idk; we'll see what happens lol. On a somewhat related note, I'm kinda anxious because I have not received any feedback from not one of the judges for my submission this week (72). Usually I'll get at least one of those "thank you" decals from luzcypher letting me know he's got my entry... Seems like they're a bit overwhelmed at the judge's desk lol. It's ironic, bc I spent more time rehersing and recording this week's performance than any of my previous ones... Tis life, though I suppose :) And I like your advice: though I think "guaranteed" is a bit strong of a term.. ;) It's hard not to become discouraged when one is only looking to the outside of one's self for validation; luckily, I just enjoy the simple act of singing and playing guitar per se, so, I don't mind too much... But, it is always nice to be acknowledged for one's hard work; and also to simply share a passion with others who feel similarly :)

Sharing a passion with others is indeed a rewarding experience but yes it is important to continue to enjoy the simple act of singing and playing. Don't spend too much time looking for validation, trust your own feelings and do what makes you happy, it's the shortest path to happiness.

Easy for you to say... ;) But, yes, don't worry, that is already, essentially, the program I adopt. And it's not so much "validation," as it is... honesty or "reality." Sometimes someone's "rejection" can be just as much, if not often more so, truly, a "validation" of a behavior...

Don't worry, I took the long road and got lost in the wilderness for many years. As difficult as it was then, it's what allows me to be grateful for what I have now and for the people who have continued to support me despite past interactions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42