sTeemIt open Mic week 82 // cover a Steemian @tcpolymath "Slide Me Down This Frozen River" cover by @gibber

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I am so excited! This is my 20th consecutive #openmic entry and I wanted to do something really special. I have been wanting to cover an original written by a fellow Steemian. When I heard @tcpolymath's week 81 entry to #openmic I absolutely knew I had found the song I was looking for. The song is called "Slide Me Down This Frozen River" and it is so well written that I knew right then all I had to do was to to deliver it. I changed keys, a couple of words and put it to a nice little strum on the 12 string guitar tuned a full step down. I recommend using external speakers or headphones to really hear some of the production value, although the mix I got out of Audacity (recording software) sounds good even on my phone. I like to thank @tcpolymath for his permission to cover his "bad ass" song. ;9) This song is about a casualty of war... I have someone close to me who is a casualty of dementia, this song really hits home for me...

"Slide Me Down This Frozen River"

I'm sure you thought you were a hero
Bringing me to the promised land
But in your frozen little Eden
It's more cold, more cold than I can stand

When you brought me to this valley
When you saved me from the war
Dragged my body 'cross the tundra
Cause couldn't walk, I couldn't walk any more

So may my spirit find the water
Though my body's in the snow
Slide me down this frozen river
Let me go, let me go

I spend my days in constant struggle
To still the pain that's ever more
I spend my nights in sweet illusion
Always dreaming, dreaming of the shore

So may my spirit find the water
Though my body's in the snow
Slide me down this frozen river
Let me go, let me go

See the frost upon our window
I can feel it in my bones
Each day your pack is gets leaner
How long, how long 'till we'll be eating stones?

You thought that you could do a wonder
Now it's time for you to leave
At least you'll be somewhere warmer
Only a living man, a living man can grieve

So may my spirit find the water
Though my body's in the snow
Slide me down this frozen river
Let me go, let me go

May my spirit find the ocean
Let me go, let me go

May my spirit find the ocean
Let me go, let me go, let me go home....

Copyright (c) 2018 Tim Cooper @tcpolymath. All Rights Reserved.

Here is @tcpolymath original version

https://steemit.com/openmic/@tcpolymath/steemit-open-mic-week-81-original-song-slide-me-down-this-frozen-river

Thankyou @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this such a great platform

And thank you to all the judges for all the time and effort it takes to make your weekly picks:

@verbal-d @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion @meno

Sort:  

Outstanding #coverasteemian and Open-Mic entry, brother! Loved the production, the subtle bass lines, and just the whole darn thing! Nice!

@passion-ground right-on brother .. I like the way you think ;9) too many cools, @tcpolymath really wrote an incredible song. Have a really good week!

What a cool entry @gibber ! loved the song @tcpolymath ! and loved your interpretation! Thanks for participating in #coverasteemian

Thank you so much @pechichemena... I appreciate your time and effort and of course your musicianship... bravo maestro!

absolutely beautiful job @gibber i loved it

Right on thank you @soundlegion.. I had a blast putting this one up.. ;9)

Amazing job @gibber! Beautiful song, and you really did it justice here.

Thank you very much. I'm very proud of it and I'm thankful to @tcpolymath for kindly allowing me to cover it...

Lovely. I really like the cadence you chose.

Also, any time I can get someone else to tune down I consider it a win. You'll be playing a baritone before you know it.

Right on thank you! Awesome song sir ;9) When I find a baritone and have money I most certainly will do it... ;9)

This is really great. Thanks for turning me on to your music, brother!

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Thank you for stopping by... @shadow3scalpel

You are just too full of class, excellent job from you boss..

Thank you for stopping by and listening, have a good day...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75