Steemit openmic songwriters challenge week 2 - Lost and Found

in #openmic7 years ago

Steemit openmic songwriters challenge Week 2

Hello fellow Steemians,

I'm back with my entry for week 2 of the openmic songwriters challenge.
I struggled a lot this week.


When I saw this week's announcement of the theme I instantly had an idea and wrote down a few lines of lyrics.

But then a few not so nice things happened in my life this week that I had to deal with and the songfragment was put to the side.
I picked it up a few days later and once I put my mind to it had the lyrics down in no time. Now for the melody!


First I wanted to have an indie feel to it, then I didn't like it and went for something more pop punk, didn't work out either so Sunday came and I had three different melody ideas none of them I was really happy with.

It was a really muggy day here in Australia and my garage, where I have my gear got unbearably hot.
I tried so many different version and video takes until I gave up before I would end up with a heat stroke.

In the end I settled with the kind of song I always write, not very satisfying as I wanted to try something new, well maybe next week.


I messed up the chorus a few times (So please refer to the written lyrics) and the chords too but I guess that was the best I could do today. The audio quality was sub par, then YouTube wasn't behaving and I had to use Vimeo which worked after multiple tries so everything that could go wrong, did.

So here without further adieu :
My entry for this week's challenge



Lost and Found

I've been tossed in the great unknown, couldn't find my way back to you
I've been losing myself somehow, don't know what else I could do

I don't survive the nights alone, oh well that's nothing new
I'm trying to drown the pain I feel pretending it's not true

Lost and found all my dreams are tumbling down
Crash and burn, we scream without a sound

Hide and seek I want you to stick around
Toss and turn there's no way of finding out

You've been searching for a sign, searching for a clue
You never thought there could be a future for me and you

We tried so hard, it's all in vain we weren't meant to be
I'm losing you again today I'm gonna set you free

Lost and found all my walls are crumbling down
Crash and burn, we scream without a sound

Hide and seek the doors are closing now
Toss and turn there's no way they're finding out


Many Thanks to @luzcypher and @meno and everybody else involved in the openmic and the songwriters challenge
You are what makes Steemit a great place!

Until next time

Lots of

Geena


Sort:  

Thanks for entering

NO, thank you!

geena! this is amazing :) great performance and lovely voice. Love the lyrics too! Keep em coming.

Thanks so much, very appreciated!🙏

Nice one, Geena!

Thank you :)

I enjoyed this song.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65181.06
ETH 3405.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48