Steemit Open Mic Songwriters Challenge - Week 8 - my entry - until we meet again

in #openmic7 years ago

Hello my fellow musicians and Steemians,

Week 8! We made it!


This week's prompt was : until we meet again

First I thought of a sad song about two people who have to part against their will.

But then I realised the fact that I finished this challenge made me too happy to come up with a tear filled story about endless love.

So I turned it around and instead wrote about the typical 'it's not you, it's me' speech and the reaction of the (probably a bit crazy) partner.


I was struggling finding the right rhythm and the key change always threw me off.
So the attempt to record this was a disaster. I tried it with the electric guitar first.
Then switched to acoustic because I feel more comfortable with it, not because I sound better!


So I believe if I maybe recorded the guitar track beforehand and concentrated on singing alone, this might have been a better performance.
But as I have said many times before: all I can manage in a week's time is a raw concept and not a finished song.
So I am a bit frustrated because I wanted to go out with a bang.


Anyways. This is it. 8 weeks of songwriting are over. It was an awesome experience. I met so many amazing people and all in all had a lot of fun.

so thank you to everyone who made this possible, the organisers, the judges, the sponsors but also the songwriters, without you there would have been no music.

Special thanks to @luzcypher and @meno for getting this project on the road and putting so much work into it.
Respect to all the judges for doing this job, it takes a lot of time and I guess the decisions aren't easy.

Can't wait to see who won this but in the end we're all winners!

So here is my entry


Lyrics

You said you needed time
Needed a way out
Trying to find yourself
In this world we run around

I thought fair is fair
Didn't want to hold you back
Make your own decisions
And grab life by its neck

But I'm gonna party like there is no tomorrow
Until we meet again
I'll do everything but drown in sorrow
Until we meet again

I won't pay utility bills
hit your car on the side of the road
Put your house up for sale
With a brand new pool installed

I tell your mom about your desires
Until we meet again
Call your boss so you get fired
Until we meet again

I changed my hair my face my style
Moved into a different neighbourhood
Because when you walked through that door
You were gone for good

I'm gonna go on a shopping spree
Until we meet again
With the credit card you gave me
Until we meet again

And should you find another
On your way to clarity
It's not like I bother
Cause I'm finally feeling free


Until next time

Lots of Love

Geena

Keep rocking


Sort:  

Great entry, Geena! You did a really good job all throughout the challenge too! In fact, if we were to have a special mention for the most improved songwriter over the course of the challenge - you'd get my vote for sure!

Awwww, 😊, thank you! That's so sweet!

Do you know, I think thats a really good idea. I totally agree with you passion-ground, maybe you should mention that to the other judges!

Good song... Good job

Congrats for getting all the way through all 8 weeks!

Thank you for the incredible journey!

Haha, how often did I say "this was the last take" but in fact it was not, seems we face similar problems:) Your song is really great, chillin tune!

I got so frustrated, I was close to smashing my guitar into the amp real punk rock style and then it got ridiculous like messing up after 10 seconds then even messing up the introduction. I couldn't stop giggling . "THIS IS THE LAST TAKE, FOR F*%# SAKE!" It was not!

So beautiful Geena!! <3
Can you believe we made it!!? 8 weeks!! my friend!! 8 freaking weeks!!
i AM SO GLAD I GOT TO MEET YOU and so many other great musicians through this challenge!! thank you for sharing your music with us... thank you for being awesome and thank you for being my friend.

I admire you so much..
By the way.. i think this is my favorite one of the songs you wrote for this challenge!

Thank you, sweetheart! I'm so glad we met! Let's do this again!

haha! This is so funny Geena, I love it! Its starts off as a perfectly nice song (with a very nice melody by the way, and your voice is sounding strong and lovely) and then she turns in to a total psycho bitch! haha, I definitely did not see that coming. Personally Geena, I think you have very competently achieved your target of going out with a bang! This is a brilliant track :) And MASSIVE kudos for doing the full 8 weeks! there weren't a whole lot of us, but what a crew we have been! Im super proud of myself and the rest of us, so I think its time to party like there is no tomorrow! x

Yeah, I'm somehow good at this psycho bitch thing! Wonder why? Lol
Yesss, let's pop a virtual champagne bottle and toast to all of us. It feels like finishing a marathon. Everyone's a winner, baby! x

hehe. exactly! cheers to you Geena -pop! glug glug glug- Hoorah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50