Openmic Songwriters Challenge Week # 4 - Because we can

in #openmic7 years ago

Openmic Songwriters Challenge Week # 4 - Because we can

Hello fellow Steemians,

This is my entry for this week's theme of 'Because we can'


I was determined to come up with a happy song and ended up with a kind of pop version.
In the true Punk spirit it's under three minutes!! Aaaaand practically no introduction on the vid.
With a bit more time I maybe could have made more of this song....or maybe not!



Here are the lyrics:

To the Moon

We're dancing on the ceiling
Because we can
We set the world reeling
Take my hand
We seize the day
cause we understand
The time is now

I'm gonna build a rocket
To take you out on the moon
I'm gonna catch some hot air to
go up in a balloon

You and me we can do anything
cause we have nothing to lose
We jump right in the deep end
And float straight up again

There is no time for wonders like this
My heart skips a beat when we kiss
You and me we're a different kind
So high on this
I'll lose my mind


Hope you enjoy!

See you next time!

Geena


Sort:  

I love your song. Thanks for playing and singing for us.

Thank YOU for providing the opportunity! 😊

YEEEAAAH!!! Nice one Geena! I love this one! I also just really like the tone of your voice, its becoming very familiar to me and gives me a sort of nostalgic, cozy feeling :)
We jump right in the deep end
And float straight up again

Great line x

Wow, thanks, a comment from you means a lot as I admire your skills so much. I was fond of this song but as usual presented it rushed and unrehearsed and made quite a mess of it but I might work on it in the future. And thank you for liking my voice, I'm struggeling with my singing compared to all the amazing voices here on openmic.

yeah well, I think we all have our struggles, I know I certainly do. If I could just write the songs and then get someone else to play them I would actually much prefer to do that.....and part of the nature of this challenge is that the songs are NEVER going to be polished.....not in such a short amount of time.....just keep on rocking what you've got! I think thats the order of the day :)

Has this nice classic rock vibe that I'm digging. Great melodies & lyrics too!

I especially liked the note choice on "I lose my mind." Ch is catchy as anything ;)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Meno from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54