Openmic songwriters challenge week #3 - Stolen Soul

in #openmic7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians,

I am still going strong with Week 3 of the openmic songwriters challenge, not that I had any kind of success in the competition but I managed to overcome some personal struggles.



As you might or might not have noticed I am a compulsive rhymer and I have tried for a long time now to write lyrics that don't rhyme necessarily.
It is very hard for me although it looks so easy when other people do it but while writing a song the rhymes practically throw themselves at me.


So this week I was determined to write something that works without rhyme and I somewhat succeeded.
For the most part I am happy with the way the lyrics flow although there are some unresolved parts.
But I can always come back later and fine tune it.
(Which I probably never will but it makes me feel better thinking I would)


Next on my songwriters bucket list is writing a pop punk song and after that feeling 'the Blues' let's see if I can tackle these goals in one of the coming weeks.


But now : here is my entry for this week



Mother

Growing up I didn't know about the world and all it's places
I needed thought and guidance too to find my way around the dangers

You raised me tall but all in all you stole my soul
Left me trying to put together all the pieces

An empty shell a lonely heart without the warmth of a mothers touch
trying to understand what I'd done to deserve this

Oh listen child you are my pride
My joy in life I'm by your side
I will not leave you on your own
Your soul is sacred to my bones

Now years have gone I outgrew my past I have become a better person
But every time I think of love I realise (right from the start) I fell short

It slowed me down it broke my mind it ruined me of that I'm certain
But when new life was put in me all the fears returned to haunt me

The legacy of not loving me is broken it's the dawn of a new morning
I held your hand, you'll heal my wounds, the past hast lost its meaning

Oh listen child you are my pride
My joy in life I'm by your side
I will not leave you on your own
Your soul is sacred to my bones


Sort:  

This is your best yet, Geena! Really nice thematic composition - great job!

Thank you, very much appreciated! 😊

Thanks for playing. Nice performance.

Thanks, I'm trying

whats really lovely about this song is that theres a lot of sadness in the verses and then just this stunning, positive, loving chorus that really puts a lump in my throat because it shows so much strength and courage. I absolutely love it. And remember, overcoming personal struggles is one of the ABSOLUTE PINNACLES of success that we can achieve in this life

Thank you so much for your comment, you captured the essence of my song perfectly and I couldn't agree more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45