OPEN MIC WEEK 34 – „The witch from Amesbury”

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

So apparently this platform is full of great contests. I just woke up and saw @papa-pepper singing and was like…yea let’s do this too! So here we go. I will probably just sing Czech folk songs (because we have so plenty of them and they are oftentimes really epic). At the end of the post I will always translate the lyrics so you know what I’m singing about.
open mic 34.png

This is the original

This is my oath that I have really filmed this right now, but I failed to say it in the beginning of the video. I play Ultimate Frisbee (sport with no judges) so I am all about Spirit of the game. This is me singing now!

This is me singing

This is the text in Czech
Zuzana byla dívka, která žila v Amesbury,
s jasnýma očima a řečmi pánům navzdory,
sousedé o ní říkali, že temná kouzla zná
a že se lidem vyhýbá a s ďáblem pletky má.

Onoho léta náhle mor dobytek zachvátil
a pověrčivý lid se na pastora obrátil,
že znají tu moc nečistou, jež krávy zabíjí,
a odkud ta moc vychází, to každý dobře ví.

Tak Zuzanu hned před tribunál předvést nechali,
a když ji vedli městem, všichni kolem volali:
"Už konec je s tvým řáděním, už nám neuškodíš,
teď na své cestě poslední do pekla poletíš!"

Dosvědčil jeden sedlák, že zná její umění,
ďábelským kouzlem prý se v netopýra promění
a v noci nad krajinou létává pod černou oblohou,
sedlákům krávy zabíjí tou mocí čarovnou.

Jiný zas na kříž přísahal, že její kouzla zná,
v noci se v černou kočku mění dívka líbezná,
je třeba jednou provždy ukončit ďábelské řádění,
a všichni křičeli jako posedlí:"Na šibenici s ní!"

Spektrální důkazy pečlivě byly zváženy,
pak z tribunálu povstal starý soudce vážený:
"Je přece v knize psáno: nenecháš čarodějnici žít
a před ďáblovým učením budeš se na pozoru mít!"

Zuzana stála krásná s hlavou hrdě vztyčenou
a její slova zněla klenbou s tichou ozvěnou:
"Pohrdám vámi, neznáte nic nežli samou lež a klam,
pro tvrdost vašich srdcí jen, jen pro ni umírám!"

Tak vzali Zuzanu na kopec pod šibenici
a všude kolem ní se sběhly davy běsnící,
a ona stála bezbranná, však s hlavou vztyčenou,
zemřela tiše samotná pod letní oblohou ...

And this ismy translation of the text so you guys know what im singing about (I will do this for every song). It will suck but you will understand a bit:P

Zuzana was a lass living in Amesbury,
With shiny eyes and (Have no idea what this is trying to tell me even in Czech),
The home-folks were saying that dark magic she knows,
And that she’s avoiding them all and with devil she works,

That summer plague cattle affected,
And superstitious public addressed the pastor,
That they know that filthy power that kills all the cows,
And from where that power surges is well known,

Zuzana was forced in front of the tribunal,
And when they dragged her across the city they shouted:
“Thus the end of your spree, you won’t hurt us anymore
And on that last voyage of yours, hell is the destination.”

A farmer instantly testified that he knows that art of hers,
With a devilish spell she turns into a bat,
Night skies over the country-side she roams,
Killing farmers cows with the magical power.

The other one pledged on a cross that he knows her spells,
During nights into a cant transforms sweet lass,
The necessity is to end this devilish spree,
And everyone shouted like possessed: “Into the gallows with her!”

Spectral proofs were carefully examined,
Then old respected judge stood up,
“The book tells us you won’t let a witch live,
And stand to the devils teaching you will!”

Zuzana stood there pretty with her head up high,
And her words resounded in dome with calm echo:
“I disdain you all, you know nothing but deceit and fraud,
For the callosity of your hearts, solely for it I die!”

The dragged Zuzana onto the hill to the gallow-tree,
And all around a rampaging crowd gathered,
And she stood there hapless but with her head up high,
She died silently alone under the summer sky…

Sort:  

Nice singing. Thanks for making the second video to prove it was you. Welcome to Steemit Open Mic

I wouldn’t call it nice but I enjoy singing nonetheless :).

Great stuff, well done. And it helped me learn some czech pronunciation too :)

I think the song would come out better in presentation if you including the music to your singing, but lovely original song from the Czech culture. Thanks for participating in the open mic, and for next time when you enter again, just say Open Mic Week (Number of the Current Week) example 35, 26, 37 etc...

Thanks for the feedback! Next time I will try to find a karaoke version and sing to it. Unfortunately I have injured my ear membrane and will have to have at least a week without music. I’ll try my luck in next week’s contest with yet another Czech folk song and see how the ear goes. About the rule… yea I failed to read the whole post before I started singing (hasty me… also I just wanted to sing so badly:D)

I hope your ear recovers quickly and smoothly, I look forward to hearing more music from your beautiful country. Keep it up, you're very welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58679.85
ETH 2304.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45