OpenMic Night Contest Entry....Rejuvenation with the Tibetan Bowls

in #openmic8 years ago (edited)

Good day Steemians!  

\

I'm quite excited for this openmic night which is actually a bit unusual for me, as I am generally the one behind the camera doing the photography and videos, not in front of the lens.

I got inspired to participate in this open mic night because I want to support the community that is building through Steemit.  I am not much of a "performer", as what I share is not about being seen on stage, but about providing an opportunity for a personal experience with the meditative, peaceful sounds of the Tibetan Bowls.


I'm generally much more about collaboration than competition, but in the nature of sharing our passions, here is my entry for this week's contest.

I have been playing the bowls for about 8 years and have only played them 4-5 times in an open mic situation.  I generally do personal sound healing sessions, group meditations, festivals and events, playing in the garden and out in nature for myself, and have had the blessed opportunity to play for the new Dali Lama with @quinneaker on the didgeridoo.  

I have never memorized a song with the bowls, but play whatever sound the bowls want to sing in the moment--every piece a unique, one-of-a-kind flow.  

Thanks to @kevinwong, @Verbal-D and @luzcypher for being the inspiration and instigators  of this open mic.



Sort:  

I sure do love the Tibetan Bowls!
Thanks for sharing.

My pleasure, as always!

Thanks for entering open mic night. You got in at the last minute, but I think you should enter again for week two which just started. Those bowls sound beautiful. Here'ss the link if you would be so kind as to try again. Open Mic Night Week 2

Was feeling I was a bit late to really generate any interest. Thanks for your response.

You were a bit late with only one hour left.. Give it a go for week 2. It sounded lovely.

Yes, I debated whether to post or not to post at that late moment. But decided regardless it felt good to support OpenMic Night. It's a great idea.

Wow, Shellie what beautiful, spiritual sounds -- I love how you create the 'singing'. A real education, too.

I find the bowls to be very medicinal -- healing our spirits through sound vibration. Grateful to play for you @ilanaakoundi

Awesome Shellie!! What a fantastic gift!

Thanks Sara. I'm so grateful to play for this community.

This definitely deserved more love and appreciation. The syncopation and rhythmic flow gave it such a strong ambience of auditory relaxation. I was pulled into the Tibetan culture with such ease and watched the beauty unravel. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to your future musical posts.You play with intention and passion. Upvoted

Thank you for your comments @verbal-d. The Tibetan bowls are magical and so they served their purpose on this day in this post. Grateful to have shared and will likely do something more in the future. I appreciate your witness. Blessings.

Definitely blessings to you as well and you are most welcome. Thank you for your positive energy and making a difference with what you share and give out.

This is just incredible!! Great to have you here I have never seen this kind of musical talent but I found it fascinating.

I haven't found many who play the bowls, but once one gets hooked, they're hooked. They are so calming and relaxing that I've never found anyone who didn't like them. Thanks for tuning in and giving me you comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44