Open Mic Week 39 - Blue Train Through Georgia

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Howdy Folks!
(Edit: Apparently the video on Youtube messed up, so I re-uploaded, checked and updated the link)

This week my entry for Steemit Open Mic is an original song. Written by someone else. :)

Blue Train Through Georgia was written by a friend of mine, Harold McMickle, when we played together in the The Crowley's Ridge String Band. We debuted that song as one of our first recordings, and even got featured on a program called Arkansas Roots on the Arkansas State University Radio Station, KASU (kasu.org).

We always had a blast playing this song, and when I moved across the state to Eureka Springs I couldn't take the String Band with me. I asked Harold if my wife and I could perform the song in our group, Eureka Music Revival. He agreed with one stipulation: we had to get a video. So we did.


We have played this song at just about every show, and we always see feet tapping, sometimes dancing (which is always awesome). If you like this, you can see a medley of Blue Train Through Georgia and Eastbound and Down from a live show we did a while back on my youtube channel (more steemit vids there, too).

Thank you so much for watching! Thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk for hosting an amazing contest that brings out some amazing artists. Thanks to everyone who participates in this, too. You are the reason it exists, and the reason I spend a lot more time watching videos lately.

Rock on!
-@eurekaj

Want to be part of open mic? Jump in!

Sort:  

Good stuff!!! That's neat that you and your wife play together :) Upvoted and resteemed!

Thank you very much! It's fun playing together. We still have to schedule practice time, but don't have to worry about the commute. :)

Hey you're super talented. Way to put yourself out there! U got a new follower. I play music but not sing..

Thank you very much. Ive played for over 25 years, but just recently started singing. There are folks that do instrumentals for open mic. You should give it a shot.

Thanks think I will!

Awesome. Following you know so I can check it out.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eurekaj from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Sounds good guys. Thanks for playing Steemit Open Mic.

Thank you for hosting!

I already said it in the fb group, but I had to come here, find you, upvote, and say it again, that's completely badass that she's rockin out an upright bass :) :) :) I just love that sound, and it's rare to see a woman playing it <3 <3 Beautiful!!

Thanks! She loves playing it, and it definitely adds a different sound to the mix. Its an electric upright instead of the traditional hollow body (it fits in our vehicle while traditional uprights dont) so we have to plug it in for amplification.

Yesss!! That's awesome that it's electric, we had an acoustic upright in our band years back, and playing live gigs was hard, sometimes we just couldn't get it mic'd well at all :( Great job, and I bet you are real crowd pleasers!! xoxoxoxo

Make me dancing! Yeah!! Congrats guys! Upvoted and resteem!
I do not know if it's your musical genre but if you want to listen to the ep's of my band!
https://steemit.com/music/@dexpartacus/i-introduce-you-my-band-watch-them-burn-if-you-like-metal-music-let-me-know-what-you-think

dancing! Thats what im talking about! I listen to a lot of different genres of music. I'll check it out!

Perfect! Appreciate!! continuing dancing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57864.58
ETH 2697.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21