My halloweek bloopers!

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)

TEXT.png

Designed on Canvas

Esta semana que apenas terminó me sentí muy motivada a finalmente participar en varios concursos de steemit, No sé si fue el ambiente de halloween, pero tuve unas jornadas de terror , tratando de publicar mis entradas. Aquí les cuento:

Día 1


Era uno de esos días en que la determinación se apodera de ti. Ya no quise postergar más...así que dije: hoy grabaré mis entradas. Antes de que mis hijos se durmieran grabé la del concurso #armonia, esta era prioridad, porque la temática era de terror y solo tenía una canción que ´podía cantar, así que tenía que asegurarme de ser la primera. Irónicamente, esta, que era la canción de “terror” fue la menos terrorífica de toda mi semana. Pedí unos minutos de silencio a todos en casa, hice solo un par de tomas y lista la publicación. Con las demás no tuve la misma suerte.

Cuando ya mis hijos se durmieron puse manos a la obra ahora con la pieza para #openmic... Por alguna extraña razón las canciones que más me gusta cantar me presentan mayores dificultades para la ejecución instrumental.
Pasé días ensayando esta canción con mi cuatro y aprediendo la letra, porque es una canción nueva para mí. Ya grabando empecé por equivocarme en el acordé más fácil, (nada bien para comenzar) luego todo bien pero dije mal una palabra...toma #3.... Me equivoqué en los acordes más difíciles, luego otra y otra y otra toma, hasta que quizá ya por la toma #13 ya parecía que estaba todo bien y que ya iba a superar los obstáculos...faltaban 5 segundos y ¿qué creen?, terminé sin equivocarme, por fin la toma definitiva! Cuando fui a presionar el botón para detener la grabación me di cuenta de que no estaba grabando!!!! Recuerdo que cuando estaba pequeña hicimos una comedia de teatro con este desenlace…pero esto...esto era la vida real y no me causó ninguna gracia.

Y pensé...es imposible que no haya presionado el botón para empezar a grabar. Resulta que sí lo hice, pero el celular se quedó sin memoria cuando faltaban 5 segundos para terminar la canción! Por eso no hay entrada para open mic esta semana. Aquí tienen el video de cómo quedó mi toma incompleta! Ya la voz no salía igual con la frustración de los más que demasiados intentos a las 2:00 am... Ya lo intentaré de nuevo mañana, pensé.

Día 2


Al día siguiente me enteré que era el último día para participar en el concurso de canciones de Disney de #singit, y como me encanta esa temática, alrededor de las 11 am me propuse no perder esta oportunidad. Me dediqué un par de horas a aprender la canción y grabarla. Mi hija de 5 años me “peinó” y me acompañó para darme ánimo, mucho ánimo… demasiado ánimo. No se imaginan como es cantar una suave canción de Disney con tu hija dando brincos por todo el cuarto "animando" al estilo cheerleader, el intermedio se me hizo eterno. Pensé mil veces en parar para pedirle que no se moviera, pero seguí hasta el final.

Eso no fue lo peor, luego de grabarlo me percaté de que era un requisito subirlo a #dtube y no tenía cuenta, así que tuve que abrirla para subirlo. Mi vieja computadora no puede abrir dtube así que tuve que hacerlo desde el celular. Hice como tres intentos, puse mal la contraseña varias veces, (luego aprendí que tenemos cuatro contraseñas y cómo conseguirlas), Imagino que recordarán cuando abrieron su cuenta de dtube…. O quizá soy la única que pasó por ese horror.

Pero hasta ahora vamos comenzando. El video tardó bastante subiendo a dtube, y cuando ya estaba listo, antes de publicarlo, deslicé el dedo por la pantalla de mi celular para bajar hasta el botón, solo que en la dirección contraria, y lo que hice fue refrescar la página… pero no me di cuenta de qué fue lo que hice, así que lo único que supe en ese momento, fue que había perdido la subida del video y que tendría que subirlo de nuevo. En este punto ya la situación era frustrante, ya que tenía que salir de casa en menos de una hora y apenas estaba comenzando de nuevo. Para ahorrarles el suspenso, en este segundo intento, fue que me di cuenta que deslizando el dedo en el celular, se refrescaba el upload y volví a quedar en cero! Me armé de valor, para una tercera vez, ya se me hacía tarde pero esa noche era la fecha límite del concurso y no iba a “tanto nadar para morir en la orilla” así que cuando finalmente tuve cuidado con mis dedos, la subida no se pudo realizar debido a un error, que yo por supuesto no entendía por ser recién llegada en dtube. A este punto casi al borde de la desesperación, mi esposo me ofreció copiarlo a su computadora, para hacer el upload mientras yo iba a mi compromiso. Entonces nos dimos cuenta de que el error anterior fueron los tags, no estaba utilizando el símbolo # y esto daba un error al subirlo. Finalmente en el intento número 4 el video subió y logré hacer la publicación, justo antes de que se acabara la fecha límite! “En la rayita”, -pensé. Un par de horas después cuando me preparaba para dormir... me veo leyendo el anuncio de una semana más de prórroga para el concurso! No lo podía creer (inserta aquí tu carcajada)… bueno, en fin, ya estaba hecho, y ya era una preocupación menos.

Día 3


Tenía varios días queriendo grabar una canción para #pitchperfect,… esta vez, tenía muy poco tiempo antes de salir al trabajo, pero a pesar de todo la semana me había dado el impulso para segur dando estos primeros pasos. Ahora involucré un poco más a mi hija para que me ayudara con la pista… el horror de ésta estuvo en los cables. Intentamos amplificar la pista y los cables hacían un ruido súper feo, había que sostenerlos de cierto modo, para que sonaran bien, y rezar para que no fallaran a lo largo de la canción…. Imaginen a mi pequeña dj tratando de hacerlo funcionar, mientras yo hacía cara de que todo estaba bien, intentando presentar el video antes de reproducir la pista. Al final en la versión que presenté, la pista empezó a sonar antes de que yo terminara de hablar, pero el show debía continuar…y yo debía ir a trabajar! Así se quedó.

Finalmente les puedo decir, que después de la tormenta viene la calma. En este caso, me quedan los aprendizajes y la experiencia. Además de haberme probado que si me lo propongo, puedo lograr muchas cosas, aunque nadie dijo que sería fácil. Hoy tuve la noticia de que en uno de los concursos gané el 2do lugar, y eso me llenó de mucha alegría, (ahora mismo estoy leyendo que gané otro segundo lugar, así que son dos de 3 por ahora) y sigo recibiendo votos y comentarios lindos… los cuales recibo con los brazos abiertos como el premio por haber soportado esta semana del terror!

FIN…¿ o no?

Bono terrorífico

Decidí hacer un post de escritura, esta misma semana. Todo fluyó muy bien, ya lo había escrito en Inglés, y quería escribirlo a 2 columnas, para agregar Español. Las columnas no terminaban de salir bien, y ya se empezaba a hacer tarde. Cuando ya lo tenía casi listo, algo pasó y el texto ya no estaba, y no pude recuperar lo hecho. Solo tenía respaldo de la versión original en Inglés, así que me tocó volver a escribir la versión en Español, dar el formato, volver a las columnas, que esta vez me dieron mayores problemas, y cuando por fin llegué al final y publiqué, descubrí que la primera publicación no se había borrado sino que de hecho se había publicado hace una hora, y ya tenía 9 votos pero los tags incompletos. (Inserte aquí cara de sorpresa, incredulidad y decepción al mismo tiempo) Como es aparentemente mi semana de la perseverancia, decidí que iba a borrar el post mas nuevo pero iba a editar el viejo para completar los tags y agregar detalles que no había terminado al momento en que lo publiqué por error. Parecía un buen plan, solo copiar el post nuevo antes de eliminarlo, y luego pegarlo en la edición del post viejo, así como terminar los tags. Todo listo. Solo falta presionar el botón para actualizar los cambios. ¿Listos para el horror? Me quedé sin RC!
Nada más que decir... me fui a dormir a la 1 am para despertar y poder publicar cuando mi RC se hubiese recuperado.

Thanks…

A pesar de las dificultades, tengo muchas razones para estar agradecida esta semana, primero , quiero agradecer a mi hija Amanda por conspirar conmigo esta semana, es hermoso tener una hija que te acompaña en estas aventuras. A @lusideas19 quién me habló de esta comunidad incluso antes de entrar ella misma, y esta semana comenzó a compartir su talento aquí en steemit, gracias a ella estoy aquí. Luego a @miguelvargas que me ha apoyado de manera desinteresada en más de una de mis publicaciones. También a @fitinfun and @lyndsaybowes por su gran solidaridad, muestra de que no estamos solos, ni siquiera en la semana del terror hah. Una mención especial a los anfitriones , jueces y participantes de estos espectaculares concursos, que son el medio ideal para nuestra gran comunidad musical. No debe ser nada fácil mantener a flote estos proyectos, pero vale la pena! sigan adelante con esta excelente labor.

En esta oportunidad quiero presentarme como miembro de una hermosa comunidad llamada @steemitmamas , quienes me han orientado en varias oportunidades en este camino de novata, y con quienes tengo el honor de compartir el rol de madres alrededor del mundo. Gracias a ellas pude terminar de publicar mi escrito, y les agradezco por el gran apoyo que me han brindado!

This past week, I felt the urge to finally start participating on some steemit singing contests. I don’t know if it was the Halloween mood, but I had some horrible moments trying to get my entries posted. "These are my stories":

Day 1


It was one of those days when determination takes over you. I didn’t want to procrastinate it anymore, so I said: I’m going to do it today! Before my kids went to bed, I recorded the video for the #armonia contest. IT was the priority because it was Halloween themed and I only had one appropriate song, so I wanted to make sure I was the first one submitting, so the song wouldn't be already taken. Ironically, this one, supposed to be the horror themed entry , was the least horrific of my whole week. I just asked everyone at home for a few quiet moments, and that was it, a couple of takes, and I had my entry. I wasn’t that lucky with the remaining ones.
When my kids were already in bed I started working on the #openmic entry. For some reason, the songs I dig the most, are the ones that are harder for me to play. I spent some days learning the song, since it was also new to me. Anyways, I started recording and dang, I messed up the easiest chord (quite a way to start). Take 2, now the chords were fine, but I sang the wrong lyrics. Take 3, I failed to play the difficult chords. Then it was take after take, until, perhaps about take 13, it seemed it would finally be the one. I had made it through the hardest parts and guess what? I finished! So when I was going to press the red button to end the recording, I realized it wasn’t recording! I remembered a comedy I played back when I was a kid, it had the same plot. But this, this was real life, and it wasn’t funny.

So I thought, it’s impossible that I forgot to press the button before starting. Turns out I did press it, but the cell phone ran out of space and the recording stopped 5 seconds before the end of the song. That’s the reason why I didn’t post an openmic entry this week. My voice wasn’t the same at 2:00 am, and the frustration caused by the too many failed attempts. I’ll try again tomorrow – I thought.

So this was my final unfinished take

Day 2

Next day I found out it was the deadline for the #singit contest Disney Special. Since I love Disney songs, I didn’t want to miss the opportunity. It was around 11 am. I spent a couple of hours learning and rehearsing the song. My 5 year old daughter did my hair, and stayed with me to do the “cheering”. She cheered me up A LOT. Too much I’d say. You can’t imagine what it was for me to sing a soft sweet Disney song with my daughter jumping and moving all the way around. The instrumental section seemed to take forever. I thought about stopping a thousand times to ask her not to move, but I kept going till the end.

But that wasn’t the worst. After making the video, I realized I had to upload it to #dtube , but I didn’t have an account yet. So I had to sign in. My old laptop can't run dtube, so I had to do it from my cell phone. I did around 3 attempts and the password was wrong..(then I found out we have four different passwords and how to find them) I imagine you would remember your own problems signing in, or is it just me going through that horror?.

But we are just getting started, the video took long enough uploading, and when it was almost finished and I had to press the post button, I slid my finger in the wrong direction and ended up refreshing the page, but I didn’t understand what happened at that time. All I knew was that I had lost my upload and had to start over . At this point, the situation was frustrating and I needed to go to class in less than 1 hour. To make the story short, the second attempt was the one where I realized that sliding the cell phone in the wrong direction would make me refresh the page, and so I was back to square 1. I gathered my courage for a 3rd try. I was running late for a class, but that night was the deadline for the contest and I wasn’t going to give up after so much effort.. not again, so when I was finally careful enough to slide the phone on the right direction, and pushed the post button, there was an error and the upload didn’t go through. By that time, I was feeling hopeless, my husband offered an option: copying the video to his pc and he would upload it while I was gone. That’s when we learned that the error was in the tags, I hadn’t used the # symbol. Finally, on the 4th attempt, I got my video uploaded on dtube, and I completed my entry, just before the deadline! I made it!, just in time, I thought.

A couple of hours later, when I was about to sleep, I read the announcement for an additional week extension for the contest’s deadline. I could not believe it. (insert your laugh here).. Anyways, It was all done, so one less thing to do tomorrow!

Day 3


I had been wanting to make a video for the #pitchperfect contest. ..this time I was against the clock, because I had to go to work. Nevertheless, this week had given me the push I needed to give these first steps. I involved my daughter a little more, so she helped me play the instrumental track from the computer. The horror now: cables! We tried to amplify the track but the cables were doing this horrible noise, they needed to be held in a way they wouldn’t sound , and prayers were needed so that it would stay that way during the entire song. Imagine my Little daughter trying to make it work, while I was trying my best poker face announcing the video, before hitting the play button. In the final version, the instrumental track started playing way before I finished the greeting speech. The show must go on, and so it went, because I had to go to work. So that was it!
Finally I can tell you that there is calm after the storm. This time I gained knowledge and experience. I also proved myself that I can work hard to get my goals, although nobody said it was going to be easy. While I’m writing this, I saw the news: I got the 2nd prize on one of the contests, and that made me so happy,(right now I’m just reading I won 2nd place on the other one) so that’s 2 out of 3 for now , and I keep getting upvotes and nice comments, I embrace them with arms wide open as the prize for a making it through such a terror week!

THE END … isn’t it?

Horror bonus

I decided to call it a week for the videos and make a writing post. Everything went smooth, I had written it in English first , and I wanted to do two columns to add Spanish translation. For a while, I couldn’t quite make that work , and it was starting to get late. When It was almost done, I was writing the tags, and puff… something happened, and the text was gone. I lost it… the columns and the translation… I had only backed up the original text in English, so I had to write the Spanish version all over again, and do the mark down . The columns were being my enemies (again). When I finally posted it, I realized I hadn’t lost my draft, I had actually posted it one hour before, and it even had 9 upvotes , but the tags were n’t all there. ( my surprise/no way/-deceived face here ) Sighs… Since it was apparently my perseverance week, I decided I was going to erase the most recent post, and edit the original one, to fix the tags and some other things I had perfected in the last “lost” hour. It sounded like a plan, it was just copying the new post before erasing, and then pasting it on edit box, and then finishing the 5 tags, easy… It’s all done, just press update changes… wait for the horror… I’m out of RC!
Say no more. I went to bed at 1am, to wake up hours later and post when I had enough RC.

Thanks…

In spite of the difficulties, I have plenty of reasons to be thankful for. First I want to thank my daughter for conspiring with me in all this madness, I’m so lucky to have her with me on all kinds of adventures.
Next, I want to thank @lusideas19 who let me know about steemit even before coming in herself. Now she’s here sharing her talent, I’m here thanks to her.
I also want to thank @miguelvargas, who has supported me unconditionally in more than one of my posts.
Thank you @fitinfun and @lyndsaybowes for your solidarity, It is the living proof that we are not alone, not even on a terror week, hah.
Special mention to the hosts, judges and musicians of these 4 spectacular contests, they are the ideal environment for our great musical community. I must be hard to keep them running, but it’s worth it! Keep up the amazing job.

Finally I want to introduce myself as a member of an amazing community called @steemitmamas, they have oriented me several times on this rookie path, and I have the honor of sharing motherhood with all of them around the world. Thanks to them, I was able to finish my last post, and I am grateful for all their support.

20180516_002249_0001.png

A ti, gracias por leerme / Thank you for reading

@empathetic

Sort:  

You are a wonder in the face of all this adversity, @empathetic! I do have to laugh at your struggles with dtube. I am posting there and it rarely goes smoothly for me either.

I am so happy to have been able to help you with your rc issues. It was lucky I was in the right place at the right time and that @lyndsaybowes sees this problem is a big one and is willing to help. At the rate you are going, rc problems will very soon be a thing of the past for you anyway. The more sp you obtain, the less problem you will have.

And finally - great job on finding good tags to posts to. If you want another one, try looking at ulogs.org by @surpassinggoogle. This is a great place for posts just like this one where you talk about your day.

Welcome to steemit and to @steemitmamas. I'm so glad to have met you :)

Thank you again, I'm so glad you read it. I appreciate your tips... things might seem obvious for more experienced steemers but for me, they are missing pieces of the steemit puzzle. I hope dtube gets easier every time for both you and me.

De nada dear steemit member mama. We love having you at @steemitmamas

Heya There! Awesome post. I included it in this weeks SteemitMama Curation Post

See it here:

https://steemit.com/steemitmamas/@steemitmamas/curation-post-meet-our-e-moms

lol - nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90