STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 86 - That's What Angels Can Do - The Wood Brothers (Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

Back for another round of Steemit open mic! Thanks for your kind words on last week's entry @luzcypher, @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground & @verbal-d. I didn't get around to thanking you all individually so thought I'd do a quick one here :)

I love this song by The Wood Brothers, on the album 'Ways Not to Lose' it's a really rough sounding demo track with some odd water trickling noise in the background (maybe a fountain?) That aside, it shines through as a really raw & powerful piece of songwriting which sounds equal parts sad & beautiful.

Lyrics

You pushed my buttons
Started me knowin' things I already knew
How did you understand
With the palm of your hand

I guess that's what angels can do
Angels can do

You held my burden
Rested my bones in your arms sweet and true
How did you stay so strong
And kiss me so long

I guess that's what angels can do
I guess that's what angels can do
Angels can do
That's what angels can do

You pulled my trigger
The song that rang out was so pretty and new
How did you get so wise
With one look in my eyes

I guess that's what angels can do
I guess that's what angels can do
I guess that's what angels can do
Angels can do
That's what angels can do

Screen Shot 2018-05-22 at 23.35.08.png

Sort:  

Hi elliotjgardner,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thanks Curie team!

Hi Elliot,
I don't know how I've missed your music thus far.. been too much in a hole, I guess. I think I live in a 33.333 percent-of-actual-reality state of mind on any given day. I think your performance here is so beautiful. You're reminding me of John Mayer quite a bit. I just love your voice so much.

Gonna stalk you now. Apologies in advance.

♥-serena

Hey @paintingangels, thanks for your kind words.

I tend to post relatively infrequently so you’ll have your work cut out for you if you’re trying to stalk :D

Great performance, brother! Nice!

Aww that is a really sweet and pure song. Simple and beautiful. And a heartfelt performance - gorgeous vocals man! :) Much love - Carl

Thanks Carl, I really appreciate you taking the time to listen!

Hey @elliotjgardner, love your style of music, i could see your soul from the song.
Btw have you voted for @pfunk the main sponsor of the openmic contest? Pfunk just announced a reduction in the openmic contest prizes due to the fact that he stepped down on the list. Please lets all vote for him, he deserves to be up there. Thanks man!

Thank for your good interpretation

what an adorable song .... it was nice to hear every part of it. thanks for sharing your music. Nice melody and voice

Excelente interpretación, muy buena canción. Te invito a pasar por mi Steemit y disfrutar de mi #OpenMic y si te gusta estaría muy agradecida con tu #Upvote

Saludos desde Venezuela, Nachy.

Wow...wonderful performance boss...you gotta nice voice
From caesar Peterz on smoke(telegram)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29