Steemit Open Mic Week 67 - Elliott Smith - Biggest Lie (Cover)

in #openmic7 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-01-09 at 22.17.26.png

The first time

I still remember the first time I ever heard a song of Elliott Smith's, it was in 'The Royal Tenenbaums' but it was another 10 years before I realised who it was. The combination of the scene & the music stuck with me all that time.

I can't spend too much time listening to Elliott Smith or else I start to feel down. I've never really been a huge fan of his, but there are a few songs that have really resonated with me and this has been one of them.

Lyrics

I'm waiting for the train
The subway that only goes one way
The stupid thing that will come to pull us apart
And make everybody late

You spent everything you had
Wanted everything to stop that bad
And now I'm a crushed credit card registered to smith
Not the name that you call me with

You turned white like a saint
I'm tired of dancing on a pot of gold flake paint
Oh we're so very precious, you and I
And everything that you do makes me want to die

Oh I just told the biggest lie
I just told the biggest lie
The biggest lie

Sort:  

Sounds amazingly good.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Glad you think so!

fantastic my friend woo

Good job on the cover. Elliott Smith's great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60868.40
ETH 2377.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64