OPEN MIC WEEK 41 - Greenday - Good Riddance (Cover)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I finally did it

My first ever submission to open mic & my first ever live video. Made me feel just as nervous as sitting on stage for the first time!

I'm more of a sound engineer than a musician and my singing while playing gets a little wobbly at times, hopefully that shouldn't be an issue if I keep doing these.

Anyway, here's my performance:

In case you don't already know the words:

Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road
Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go
So make the best of this test, and don't ask why
It's not a question, but a lesson learned in time

It's something unpredictable, but in the end is right,
I hope you had the time of your life.

So take the photographs, and still frames in your mind
Hang it on a shelf in good health and good time
Tattoos of memories and dead skin on trial
For what it's worth it was worth all the while

It's something unpredictable, but in the end is right,
I hope you had the time of your life.

Thanks for checking it out.

Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 18.53.11.png

Sort:  

Brilliant elliot... Great guitar.... Your vocals are just fine here... I can just imagine how much better they'll get going forward!

Oh man - Greenday - throwback! I think your voice sounds really good in this - there's a difference between wobbly imperfections (didn't necessarily hear this, but a good thing oftentimes) and being pitchy (that you were not). I'm new to steemit, and am still getting a grip on it so to speak, but I hope I come across more of these posts should you do anymore. This was good!

Good stuff! I get nervous recording these videos - not sure why.

Woohoo! Remind me to resteem this in two days (am -- east coast us) for a bit another round of audience.

Let's see how can I do this without just saying "Great Job, dude!" Ummmm. First, thanks for participating -- this community (especially, the Open Mic group) rocks!

Next, your voice is sooooo much nicer than mine. I think I will stick to operatic meeping. Oh and running businesses -- much safer that way.

You are greatly appreciated. Steem On!

Thanks @clevercreator, I'll definitely keep it in mind!

You're right, this community is awesome. I can't believe it's nearly been a month already.

I don't know about that, meeping has it's merits :)

I haven't heard Green Day in forever. I've always liked this song, since it's so low-key compared to the rest of their sounds. This rendering is well done! Good job!

It would've been nice to have the string section with me but space is limited! Thanks for your encouragement.

We are here for the Yunk but I dont the yunkers # :( sad

I didn't tag with #yunk because I was afraid I'd receive too many upvotes

Right because u dont want to share your shares. LOL

This only has 4 tags. This would have exploded with a #yunk. Dirty crying shame

@elliotjgardner
Great content!
Thanks for sharing!

Thanks @quagiri, your support is appreciated.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by elliotjgardner from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks for playing Steemit Open Mic

Thanks @luzcypher, looking forward to doing more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67