Steemit Open Mic Week 98 Oh Freedom (Cover @elisonr13) & Msp Music & Art Curation Contest Week 26

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Portada post elison.png

"Oh, Freedom" is a song of African-American freedom after the Civil War. He is often associated with the Civil Rights Movement of the United States, with Odetta, who recorded it as part of the "Spiritual Trilogy", on his album Odetta Sings Ballads and Blues, and with Joan Baez, who performed the song at the 1963 March in Washington. Since then, Báez has performed the song live numerous times, both during his concerts and in other events. The song was recorded for the first time in 1931 by ER Nance Family as "Sweet Freedom".


First version in 1931 by ER Nance Family as "Sweet Freedom"

Some versions of the fourth verse contain the line "No more tommin", where the word tommin is a derogatory term that denotes the extreme submission of some black men towards a white person. The word seems to have been derived from the fictional character of Harriet Beecher Stowe, Uncle Tom, in Uncle Tom's Cabin. These words are not part of the traditional verses, but a later addition, which is part of popular tradition in the US, in which additional verses are added to traditional songs to highlight different personal feelings, agendas or lyrics.


Chicago, 1968. Equity issues continued, this time African-Americans and other non-white families who settled in the traditionally Lithuanian and Irish-American neighborhood led to numerous violent confrontations.


Source

Time when Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and Rabbi Robert Marx and 700 others marched through the neighborhood of Marquette Park, enduring hatred and fanaticism, dodging rocks and bottles, and words of hatred to challenge segregation of housing in Chicago, and ask America to live up to the highest ideals.


Source


Oh Freedom, 1997

Interpreted by The Golden Gospel Singers Song

Oh freedom, oh freedom, oh freedom over me
And before I'd be a slave I'll be buried in a my grave
And go home to my lord and be free

Oh freedom, oh freedom, oh freedom over me
And before I'd be a slave I'll be buried in a my grave
And go home to my lord and be free

No more weeping, no more weeping, no more weeping over me
And before I'd be a slave I'll be buried in a my grave
And go home to my lord and be free

Oh freedom, oh freedom, oh freedom over me
And before I'd be a slave I'll be buried in a my grave
And go home to my lord and be free


See you later, my friends, thank you for visiting my post. Happy week!

steemit_open_mic_week_98.png

isaria.png

Sort:  

Chamo que belleza. Me hiciste la noche. Cantas con tanto sentimiento.

Muchas, muchas, pero muchas gracias por tu comentario! también me has hecho la noche.

Duro papa! Eres grande. Felicidades broww...

LF

Mi hermano gracias, sabes que llevas la delantera así que gracias por voltear a verme, un abrazo!

Por cierto ya voy a ver que has hecho, te he abandonado un poco lo siento.

Great style, great strength to get to feel love for music. Great friend!

Thank you very much for the support @lilo21, Greetings!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Greetings, thank you very much for this.

Your voice, man! You're so talented! I'm already a big fan :D

Thanks for your words Zoe! you're very kind.

Nice performance and production, brother!

Thanks passion! greetings and blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01