Steemit Open Mic Week 68 - PHOTOGRAPH (Original song by Eden Michelle)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

This was the very first song I ever wrote. The piano came first and the words followed. It was professionally recorded when I was 15 years old and still remains a favourite with many of my friends and family.

I am currently in Switzerland for three days and hoping to shoot one or two videos for Dan Shaw for the EP just completed some days ago.

The song was written to honour my grandfather who passed away when I was 9 years old. We were very close and he would have been so proud of me.

A fond memory I have of him is sitting on the beach at night with his sundowner in his hand and saying "Look Around You - It Will Astound You" I have written a song about that too and will enter it soon.

Here is my entry at last - a bit late due to work pressure and travels - but, as the saying goes, rather late than never. This week I am performing and singing with piano - this is an original piece of music and original lyrics.
Thank you for everyone who took the time to comment

Enjoy - thanks for listening.

A big thank you to @luzcypher, @pfunk (yes, I voted for you on instructions from @passion-ground) - thanks also to @soundlegion @krystle @verbal-d and @passion-ground for taking the time to judge. Grateful to have been placed last week. I am honoured.

Sort:  

Really beautiful! How long have you been playing?

Since the age of 7 @drewley and don't regret a moment of the long hours of practise

Awesome! I’ve played since I was 10

What a lovely composition in dedication to your grandad, Eden! It's amazing that you arranged this when you were just 13 years of age! Bravo!

Superb! I could imagine this song as a delicate piece as it is in this recording, or with a rocking band smashing it out with you. Thanks for sharing the story about the song too.

That's exactly how the recording is @bmj :) thank you for your comment :)

Stunning song - this is the first time that I’m hearing you play the piano as well which is an added treat. X

A beautiful song. It makes me feel so good, beautiful voice too
I go to bed listening to you
Thank you 💓

Beautiful piece of music, love the piano and you are so talented @edenmichelle thank you so much for sharing this moving piece of music you composed.

Thank you @joanstewart - and thanks for the support - really appreciate it

My Mom used to say "Feast your Eyes" whenever there was beautiful scenery, in this case I "Feast my ears and mind" love your music.

Man, your song writing is so superb. A beautiful song.

I could see Disturbed doing some amazing things with this song. I just keep getting a rock vibe from your songwriting style. Did you have many/any rock influences growing up?

@jamesgetsit - When Eden first recorded this song her producer at the time - the late Jon Buckley put in a rock ending to it. Are you on discord James?

I am on discord, yes.

Yea, I just constantly hear just this crazy dramatic rock band behind her, some strings going.. Just love it

Please give me your discord number and I'll send the recording to you

Thank you @jamesgetsit for the compliment! Yeah definitely a lot of rock influences growing up and a lot of old school rock too! Thanks for taking the time to comment :)

Did you forget to upvote @jamesgetsit?

Lol, thank you for reminding me!! :D

It is a study that erases the past of my ear.

Wow what a compliment :) @emre3426 thank you

Beautiful whimsical song @edenmichelle, your grandpa would certainly be proud of you :)

Thank you @lizelle - good to hear you say that - means a lot to me

Awesome stuff @edenmichelle. Keep making South African's proud. I can definitely relate with some of the comments with having that rock edge added to the song. That'll be fantastic!

The original recording does have a rock edge to it at the end. So many people are saying this - think I'll make a blog about it and post my original recording @therneau

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57226.98
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29