Steemit Open Mic Week 65 - Por una cabeza. Gardel - Le Pera - Cover by Donatello

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians

This is my entry for this week's open mic.

"Por una Cabeza" is a tango song with music and lyrics written in 1935 by Carlos Gardel and Alfredo Le Pera respectively. I love this song.

I did not have the chords of the song in front of me so I had to improvise a bit. I also had some problems with the lyrics. The performance could have been better but I'm happy with it.

WP_20171227_18_25_44_Pro_(2)[1].jpg

http://lyricstranslate.com/en/por-una-cabeza-only-head.html#ixzz52VRjDU00

Por una cabeza

Por una cabeza de un noble potrillo
Que justo en la raya afloja al llegar
Y que al regresar parece decir:
"No olvides, hermano,
Vos sabes no hay que jugar"

Por una cabeza metejón de un día
De aquella coqueta y risueña mujer,
Que al jurar sonriendo
El amor que está mintiendo
Quema en una hoguera todo mi querer.

Por una cabeza
Todas las locuras;
Su boca que besa
Borra la tristeza
Calma la amargura.

Por una cabeza
Si ella me olvida
Que importa perderme
Mil veces la vida;
¿Para qué vivir?

Cuantos desengaños, por una cabeza,
Yo juré mil veces no vuelvo a insistir
Pero si un mirar me hiere al pasar,
Su boca de fuego, otra vez, quiero besar.

Basta de carreras, se acabó la timba,
Un final reñido yo no vuelvo a ver,
Pero si algún pingo
Llega a ser fija el domingo,
Yo me juego entero, qué le voy a hacer.

Por una cabeza
Todas las locuras;
Su boca que besa
Borra la tristeza
Calma la amargura.

Por una cabeza
Si ella me olvida
Que importa perderme
Mil veces la vida;
¿Para qué vivir?

http://lyricstranslate.com/en/por-una-cabeza-only-head.html#ixzz52VRu7RSS

By only a head

By only a head of
a pureblood race colt
that just on the finish
had slowed down to shamble;
and upon riding back
it seems to be saying
forget not this brother,
you know that you shouldn't gamble

By only a head I
was love struck at first sight
with that one coquettish
and cheerful dame
who by pledging with a smile
a love that she's lying about
she burns all my love
in a blazing flame

[Chorus:]
By only a head were
all of the follies;
her lips when she's kissing
the sadness are dismissing
the sourness make jolly
By only a head that
if she forgets me
won't matter if I lose
my life that hurts me;
what is there to live?

Lots of disappointments,
by only a head all
thousand times I swore that
I won't fall for this
but each time a passing
look off my feet sweeps me
her burning lips,once more,
I want to just kiss

I'm done with the race tracks,
I'm quiting all gambling
a dead heat I don't want
to ever watch again
but if a young filly
looks sure bet on Sunday
I'll gamble all I have,
what can I do then!

steemit_open_mic_week_65_xmas.png

Sort:  

wow cool, this very beautiful voice,
this vidio is very talented.

Thank you so much!

you are welcome

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

lovely playing and singing great stuff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70453.17
ETH 3808.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51